All of a Winter's Night : Merrily Watkins

  • by Phil Rickman
  • Narrated by Emma Powell
  • Series: Merrily Watkins
  • 14 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Aidan Lloyd's bleak funeral is followed by a nocturnal ritual in the fog, it becomes all too clear that Aidan, son of a wealthy farmer, will not be resting in peace. Aidan's hidden history has reignited an old feud, and a rural tradition begins to display its sinister side.
It's already a fraught time for Merrily Watkins, her future threatened by a bishop committed to restricting her role as diocesan exorcist for Hereford. Suddenly there are events she can't talk about as she and her daughter, Jane, find themselves potentially on the wrong side of the law.
In the city of Hereford, DI Frannie Bliss, investigating a shooting, must confront the apparent growth of organised crime, also contaminating the countryside. On the Welsh border, the old ways are at war with the modern world. As the days shorten and the fog gives way to ice and snow, a savage killing draws Merrily Watkins into a conflict centred on one of Britain's most famous medieval churches, its walls laden with ancient symbolism.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

good read but a bit confusing

As with all Phil Rickman books there is a lot of mystery and tradition in the story.

The story is very good if not a bit confusing in places particularly at the end, had to listen to it twice.

A good read while worth listening to.
Read full review

- ChrisH

Exce!!ent story

I really enjoyed this audio book. I had already read the book, but I had wanted to re-read it, so I thought I would try the audio version. I'm glad I did, as I had missed some things in the first reading. I was enthralled by the Kilpeck part of the story, as I have always wanted to go there. This book really held my attention. The characters are much loved, and it feels like you know them. I am very much looking forward to the next book.
Read full review

- eurzulie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-05-2017
  • Publisher: Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd