An Instance of the Fingerpost

  • by Iain Pears
  • Narrated by Paul Michael
  • 5 hrs and 58 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses - a physician hungry for fame, the son of an alleged traitor, the king's chief cryptographer, and a renowned Oxford antiquarian - only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it? Pears' skillful plot-weaving will keep you guessing until the final seconds.

More

What the Critics Say

"Deftly plotted, briskly written...Iain Pears has brass and talent to spare." (Newsweek)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book, strange narration

This is an excellent story but the narration is a bit off - terrible accents and hollow echoey sounds. Shame.
Read full review

- kb

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-03-2000
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio