Apprentice in Death : In Death

  • by J. D. Robb
  • Narrated by Susan Ericksen
  • Series: In Death
  • 13 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lieutenant Eve Dallas returns in a fast-paced new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author J. D. Robb.
Nature versus nurture...
The shots came quickly, silently, and with deadly accuracy. Within seconds, three people were dead at Central Park's ice skating rink. The victims: a talented young skater, a doctor, and a teacher. As random as random can be.
Eve Dallas has seen a lot of killers during her time with the NYPSD, but never one like this. After reviewing security videos, it becomes clear that the victims were killed by a sniper firing a tactical laser rifle, who could have been miles away when the trigger was pulled. And though the locations where the shooter could have set up seem endless, the list of people with that particular skill set is finite: police, military, professional killer.
Eve's husband, Roarke, has unlimited resources - and genius - at his disposal. And when his computer program leads Eve to the location of the sniper, she learns a shocking fact: There were two - one older, one younger. Someone is being trained by an expert in the science of killing, and they have an agenda. Central Park was just a warm-up. And as another sniper attack shakes the city to its core, Eve realizes that though we're all shaped by the people around us, there are those who are just born evil....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant series - not my usual

No Vampires/ Werewolves no supernatural. The series is about Detective Eve Dallas set in the near future about 50 years. I have read all 43 books and about another 10 short stories. I get the new book as soon as it is out. Eve is not a heroine who jumps from bed to bed she is deeply in love with her husband Roarke. Each story is complex enough and detailed enough as you watch her find clues. I know it's not my usual but it is a series I love, sorry.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Continuing with this excellent series

Would you listen to Apprentice in Death again? Why?

Yes certainly. I love all the books and characters in this series and often listen to them again and again.

What did you like best about this story?

I like the interesting plot line. The creepy personality of the Apprentice is fascinating as so well done.

What does Susan Ericksen bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I enjoy Susan Ericksen's performances on all of the books she reads. She paints a very interesting word picture of all the characters. The different voices are perfectly suited to characters as I imagine them to be.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I did have an emotional reaction to the book. I felt sorry for the sibling and mother and step-father of the apprentice. I also always enjoy the wonderfully done connection between Rorke and Eve. The scene between Rorke, Eve and Summerset is very emotional.

Any additional comments?

This writer is always sure to please. The series has been running for so long I keep thinking that it will lose its impact but thankfully it never does. Keep up the good work.

Read full review

- Mrs. S. A. Lynch

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-09-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio