BRAINRUSH, a Thriller : Brainrush

  • by Richard Bard
  • Narrated by R. C. Bray
  • Series: Brainrush
  • 10 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Listed in the Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).
When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan - where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.
An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.
Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon-USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure on Amazon.

More

What the Critics Say

"Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)
"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

...More like Brainfreeze

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

Those who enjoy nonsensical, cliche-ridden, formulaic tat. Although I must confess I gave up on the story less than half way through.


What was most disappointing about Richard Bard’s story?

Bard telegraphs this lumpen plot-line through a join-the-dot like use of comic-book cliche. The protagonist gains his super-powers after an MRI scan goes wrong (for Pete's sake!). The love interest is innocent, slender, beautiful and buxom, but is also a leading scientist in her field, feisty and independent. Continental Europe is a strange, dark place where secret terrorist organisations lurk on every street corner. And his friends ain't leavin' nobody behind... Pat American tat, best left the other side of the Atlantic.


Did the narration match the pace of the story?

The narrator did a fair job given the quality of the script.


If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from BRAINRUSH, a Thriller?

Too much to leave a viable novel behind.


Read full review

- Craig Duncan

Science 'faction'!

Jake, a terminally ill former F-16 pilot, is caught in an MRI scanner during an earthquake with some spectacular results! If you love technology-filled military-style thrillers you'll enjoy this. If you like it with an added twist of science 'faction', you'll *love* this. Think somewhere between James Rollins and Matthew Reilly. Only the very, very end of the book left me feeling a little disappointed, the '...and a miracle happened' kind of moment. Still, the rest of the book was an absolute page turner, so I very much look forward to reading the next installment!
Read full review

- Janeyjane_UK

Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-12-2011
  • Publisher: Richard Bard