Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of Behind Dead Eyes by Howard Linskey, read by Kieran Bew.
A Mystery Victim
A corpse is found, its identity extinguished in the most shocking manner imaginable. Detective Ian Bradshaw can't catch the killer if no one can ID the victim. Out there, somewhere, a missing young woman may hold the answers.
A Secret Web
Journalist Helen Norton is about to uncover a massive criminal conspiracy. She just needs the final piece of the puzzle. Soon she will learn the price of the truth.
An 'Innocent' Killer
True-crime writer Tom Carney receives letters from a convicted murderer who insists he is innocent. His argument is persuasive - but psychopaths are often said to be charming....
What is the dark thread running through these crimes?
©2016 Howard Linskey (P)2016 Penguin Random House UK
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

Praise for Howard Linskey: "One of the best new writers around. This is a must-read series." (Mark Billingham)
"Linskey has taken a sharp swerve towards the big time.... He has elevated his writing to a level of complexity and humanity seldom approached by British writers previously. A new name on our criminal horizon." (Maxim Jakubowski)
"This is lacerating fare that makes most current crime fiction look like thin gruel." (Financial Times)
"Brilliant.... This is first class stuff, an unstoppable tale, a real page-turner not to be missed." (Sarah Broadhurst)
"Linskey delivers a flawless feel for time and place, mixed with unrelenting pace." [The Times (Top Five Thrillers of the Year)]
"Immensely satisfying, utterly compelling. Prepare to add another name to your must-read list." (Eva Dolan)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £21.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By lisasarcy on 13-05-17

Entertaining

I like the blend of journalist and police in this series, even if it is a little unlikely. The way the solutions to several cases are uncovered and linked by the different approaches the trio takes makes this an interesting read.

It's not Rebus or McRae, but it's likely to appeal to fans of Rankin and McBride.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Andy Jones on 20-12-16

Promising story ruined by poor narration

Any additional comments?

Unfortunately I had to return this book after listening to the first half as I just couldn't get into it. The story and characters had good promise, but the narration is a disaster. Literally everything is read in the same dreary, emotionless monotone, and every character (including the women) have the same voice (the narrator's), such that it is both a chore keeping up with which character is speaking, and impossible to identify or sympathise with any of the characters. Other reviewers have also pointed out that there are very short transitions from scene to scene, further aggravating the problem. Perhaps if this is re-recorded with a better narrator (one of Steven Pacey's talents, for example) in future, I will reinvest in it.

Read more Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By ZacharyKindle Customer on 26-07-16

Behind Dead Eyes

If you could sum up Behind Dead Eyes in three words, what would they be?

Nothing's as it seems!

Who was your favorite character and why?

Helen, she's got a lot of b****! A good strong woman/ reporter!

What does Kieran Bew bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

As always, with a "good narrator" they bring the characters to life, without you even realizing it. They slide effortlessly back and forth from character to character and you're engrossed in the story, not thinking about how the narrator is doing a lousy on that character!

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

I hate this ? I think "Behind Dead Eyes" is a great title. It caught my attention right away!!!!

Any additional comments?

Great beginning, three excellent plots intertwined within each other. Excellent characters! Ending a little weak!

Read more Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Sharon on 03-07-16

Another Grand Linskey Story

Mr Linskey has a talent for maintaining multiple story plots within one story. He writes about the worst of crimes without the gore. His characters are flawed, vulnerable and real. Cannot wait for the next in the series.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible Ltd.