Behind the Lines : Corps

  • by W. E. B. Griffin
  • Narrated by Dick Hill
  • Series: Corps
  • 17 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

World War II. On the island of Mindanao, the Philippines, a man calling himself "General" Fertig has set himself up as a guerrilla leader to harass the Japanese. Army records show that the only officer named Fertig in the Philippines is a reserve lieutenant colonel of the Corps of Engineers, reported MIA on Luzon. Still, the reports filtering out are interesting, and it's Marine lieutenant Ken McCoy's mission to sneak behind the lines and find out if he's for real. With him is a motley group put together as a compromise between the warring factions of Douglas MacArthur and the OSS chief Bill Donovan.
Together, these men will steal into the heart of enemy territory and there, amid firefights and jungle camps, encounter more than they had bargained for. Before they're done, each will undergo a test of his own personal mettle - with results that will surprise even the most hardened of them.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Solid entry to great series

Griffin's Corps series is one of my favourite series. This book is not the best book in the series, but it's a decent addition and you get to continue following the story of all the great characters. Australians will find this particular audiobook somewhat irritating though as the word Brisbane gets mentioned several dozen times and every single time the voice actor completely screws up the pronunciation. You think they would have checked that before recording the book.
He also doesn't do the Australian accents that well. He's fine with all the American characters however.
One positive of the audiobook is that they add an 'echo' effect when the characters are speaking to themselves in internal monologue. This is helpful as in some of the previous books in the series it was occasionally hard to work out what was dialogue vs internal monologue.
Read full review

- Stephen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-07-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio