• Bitter Remedy

  • An Alec Blume Mystery, Book 5
  • By: Conor Fitzgerald
  • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 17-09-15
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.1 (7 ratings)

Summary

Commissario Alec Blume, on health leave, has retreated from Rome to central Italy. At the Villa Romanelli, he enrols in a natural remedies course conducted by a young woman named Silvana. But far from recuperating, a feverish Blume becomes isolated and sluggish with sickness.
Increasingly ill at ease in the stifling environment, the dark history of the crumbling villa and its once-magnificent gardens draw him in. And when a Romanian girl who works for Silvana’s fiancé, Niki, asks for his help, Blume is dragged into the shadowy case of a missing girl and the horrors of the garden’s malignant beauty.
©2015 Conor Fitzgerald (P)2015 Oakhill Publishing
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Fitzgerald has created another gripping mystery featuring the irresistibly stubborn Blume.... Readers cannot help but root for him.... Fans of Donna Leon or Andrea Camilleri are bound to enjoy." (Shelf Awareness)
"Alec Blume is an inspired creation...a sly, sardonic loner who gives the impression of knowing Rome better than its natives." (The Guardian)
"[An] exciting series.... If your readers loved Michael Dibdin's Aurelio Zen series, get them started on this one." (Library Journal)
"An outstanding detective." (Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £32.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £32.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Steven on 26-05-16

Out of sorts Alec Blume sorts it!

Alec Blume goes for a restful retreat in a quiet italian village, well away from Rome, but is unsettled there, and ends up investigating the disappearance of a Romanian bar girl. Excellent narration and an engaging story with Blume and his issues at the centre. Well worth a listen for fans of both Conor Fitzgerald and Saul Reichlin!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews