Bitter Remedy

  • by Conor Fitzgerald
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • 9 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Commissario Alec Blume, on health leave, has retreated from Rome to central Italy. At the Villa Romanelli, he enrols in a natural remedies course conducted by a young woman named Silvana. But far from recuperating, a feverish Blume becomes isolated and sluggish with sickness.
Increasingly ill at ease in the stifling environment, the dark history of the crumbling villa and its once-magnificent gardens draw him in. And when a Romanian girl who works for Silvana’s fiancé, Niki, asks for his help, Blume is dragged into the shadowy case of a missing girl and the horrors of the garden’s malignant beauty.

More

What the Critics Say

"Fitzgerald has created another gripping mystery featuring the irresistibly stubborn Blume.... Readers cannot help but root for him.... Fans of Donna Leon or Andrea Camilleri are bound to enjoy." (Shelf Awareness)
"Alec Blume is an inspired creation...a sly, sardonic loner who gives the impression of knowing Rome better than its natives." (The Guardian)
"[An] exciting series.... If your readers loved Michael Dibdin's Aurelio Zen series, get them started on this one." (Library Journal)
"An outstanding detective." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Out of sorts Alec Blume sorts it!

Alec Blume goes for a restful retreat in a quiet italian village, well away from Rome, but is unsettled there, and ends up investigating the disappearance of a Romanian bar girl. Excellent narration and an engaging story with Blume and his issues at the centre. Well worth a listen for fans of both Conor Fitzgerald and Saul Reichlin!
Read full review

- Steven

Book Details

  • Release Date: 17-09-2015
  • Publisher: Oakhill Publishing