Black Water Rising

  • by Attica Locke
  • Narrated by Dion Graham
  • 13 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget. Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. His most promising client is a low-rent call girl and he runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy strip mall. But he's long since made peace with not living the American Dream and carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him. Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night in a boat out on the bayou when he impulsively saves a woman from drowning - and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past. With pacing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Thoughtful political thriller

I downloaded this after hearing Attica Locke talk about her why she began it. The atmospheric, gripping opening, showing her skills from being a film and television writer for over ten tears prior to writing this book, sets the scene for the ?thriller? side of the book. However there is more to this novel. Some people may engage with it accordingly, as I did, but some may feel the book drags in places or may even lose interest in it. It seems to have been born from a mediation on how Attica Locke?s parents changed from being involved in the civil rights movement, to becoming successful middle class professionals, somehow ?forgetting? the struggles of their younger selves, and ceased to continue fighting for the rights of those still without a chance because of the colour of their skin. The book is set in Houston,Texas in the 1980?s, and in the backstory the 1970?s. For me, White British and born in the 1960?s, this gave a fascinating and involving history lesson. The politics of the two decades form the identity of the main character; who he is, and therefore why he thinks and does what he does in the intertwined mystery of the main plot. On a broader canvas this is a book about how we all change in our lives; we lose or alter our ideals and, for good or for bad, how we deal with that fact. I have a few minor complaints, but find they are overshadowed by the strengths, and indeed potential strengths (although she is a writer this is her first novel) of the writing. Aside from the historical and political aspects, Attica Locke gave me a vivid sense of the characters of the people, including the bit players, and the places which they inhabit. She can also be disarmingly funny. What is also great about this as a listening experience is Dion Graham?s gorgeously rich voice giving the true sound of Houston, something I would have not experienced reading the page. I found this book succeeds in being involving, entertaining and thought provoking.

Read full review

- Stephen

too many metaphors

Nothing in this book was ever just itself. Everything was 'like' something else. it became very tiring. The plot was unrealistic and the female characters were all cyphers (preganant wife, career woman, bad girl made good). I did finish it, which is more than I can say for some books, so a two star rather than a one star.
Read full review

- Helen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-06-2009
  • Publisher: HarperAudio