Summary

Listed in the Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).
When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan - where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.
An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.
Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon-USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure on Amazon.
©2009, 2011 Richard A. Bard (P)2011 Richard Bard
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." ( Publishers Weekly)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £21.69

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £21.69

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Janeyjane_UK on 23-12-12

Science 'faction'!

Jake, a terminally ill former F-16 pilot, is caught in an MRI scanner during an earthquake with some spectacular results! If you love technology-filled military-style thrillers you'll enjoy this. If you like it with an added twist of science 'faction', you'll *love* this. Think somewhere between James Rollins and Matthew Reilly. Only the very, very end of the book left me feeling a little disappointed, the '...and a miracle happened' kind of moment. Still, the rest of the book was an absolute page turner, so I very much look forward to reading the next installment!

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Farmangel on 25-05-18

No brain drain.

I liked this book,I listened to it on audio and found it easy going and with enough action to keep me entertained.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Wanda on 09-06-14

Watch this author!

I bought my copy of this via audible!

I knew nothing of the story going in.
This is what I found.

Story/plot!
Extreme -- you have mad scientists. Terrorists. Hero's. One with real super powers, and yes! ALIENS!
That is alotta stuff in one book. If I read the blurb and it mentioned all this then I would have bought another in its stead.
I mean seriously...I would have made a big mistake. The author pulled it off brilliantly!

Theme
Hard to pin point within all these plot lines but I think it is the plight of autistic chldren and how they are being marginalized within "mainstream" life in general. Well, that is what I took from it.

Writing style
Amazing. Really and at this price, try it, you might not like it, you might love it as much as me.

Editing and formatting
Not applicable since I listened to it on audible

Narrator
I absolutely adored this narrator. His pacing, calm and soothing voice added so much to te characters that I know I am rating this book higher due to the narrator than I would have if I read it. The narrator is absolutely a master at his craft

Over all
Get the book....it even has a bit of romance......
Trust me. It is worth the read.

WaAr

Read more Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jill on 04-01-12

BRAINRUSH an exciting, thrilling, adventure!

This is the best thriller - science fiction I have read in ages! It has current events as well as glimpses of possible, chilling, futuristic events.
Medical anomalies, thrills, non-stop action, cool weaponry, scifi, romance, mystery and much more. Something for everyone!

I hope you don't have any other pressing matters, because you will NOT be able to put this book down! I first read this book twice, on Kindle, and was thrilled when the author released on Audiobook. R.C. Bray, did a WONDERFUL job as the narrator, capturing the characters' personalities and accents.

What a BRILLIANT debut book, by author Richard Bard! His wonderful descriptive ability, and excellent character development, make you feel like you are in the story.

This was one of the best books I've read all year! BRAINRUSH II was even better, if that's possible. It's out on eBook now and hopefully it will be out soon, (Feb.??) on Audible too.

Read more Hide me

22 of 24 people found this review helpful

See all reviews