Brothers in Blood : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Jonathan Keeble
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 13 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! Brothers in Blood is the enthralling thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.
The Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger on the streets of Rome has been intercepted and tortured, revealing a plot to sabotage the Roman army's campaign against Caratacus, commander of Britannia's native tribes. A treacherous agent's mission is to open a second front of attack against them and eliminate the two Roman soldiers who could stand in the way.
Unwarned, Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are with the Roman army pursuing Caratacus and his men through the mountains of Britannia. Defeating Caratacus seems within their grasp. But the plot against the two heroes threatens not only their military goals but also their lives.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Scarrow does it again!

Where does Brothers in Blood rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Floating amongst the cream of the crop.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Macro is superb. Earthly and strong character that facilitates constant chuckles with his base analysis of life and people.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The battle scene with the Catuvellauni of course.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Made me wince, laugh and contemplate ancient Britain all the way through.

Any additional comments?

Well done Simon Scarrow. Can't wait for the next installment...

Read full review

- Dustin

Rule Britannia!

It's all I can do not to completely binge read this series now. This passage of books back in Britannia is simply fabulous. This one gives us some fantastic and imaginatively realised battle scenes, plenty of time with Macro and Cato and in fact we even have Cato doing a fair impression of a Roman Hercule Poirot by the end!

Mr Keeble is of course firmly ensconced behind the microphone so there is no questioning the quality of the delivery.

The challenge is not to race through them now and find myself bereft at the end!
Read full review

- Simon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2014
  • Publisher: Headline Digital