Burn Marks : V. I. Warshawski

  • by Sara Paretsky
  • Narrated by Susan Ericksen
  • Series: V. I. Warshawski
  • 13 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Victoria, sweetie, you look terrific!"
With those words - and the sour yeasty smell of stale beer - Elena, V.I. Warshawski’s derelict aunt, reenters her niece’s life at three in the morning. Burned out of her SRO hotel, Elena has turned to V.I. for a place to stay. V.I. vows that it will be a short visit and uses some old political contacts to find Elena a room.
When V.I. is hired to investigate the fire at the hotel, her aunt disappears, and her aunt’s young friend is found dead at a construction site. V.I. is warned off the case by both a high-ranking police officer and a major Chicago developer - who also happens to be a close friend of the chairman of the Cook County Board. After three terrifying attempts on her life, V.I. doesn’t know whether it’s the politicians, the police, or the developers who are after her.
As this, her sixth investigation, takes her deep into the workings of both the construction business and Cook County politics, V.I. discovers a connection between the two that brings her to a confrontation where the line between friend and enemy is redrawn to frightening effect.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

V. I.

As always the wonderful V.I triumphs. Tight story with satisfactory ending. Great reader. More please
Read full review

- Judith Bassett

Contract filler?

Let me start with the good, which is the performance by the reader is excellent. Now the not so good the story is so poor so depressing so far fetched so clichéd so tedious .

Was this done to fill a book contract or is a copy of a clinically depressed fantasist diary I don't know but this is the worst VI book I've come across. The tale of violent police an Aunt that has never been involved before the empty round of days and no real solid crime except bunched up like a Chekhov monologue.
Read full review

- Pammy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 21-08-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio