As Quebec City shivers in the grip of winter, its ancient stone walls cracking in the cold, Chief Inspector Armand Gamache plunges into the strangest case of his celebrated career. A man has been brutally murdered in one of the city’s oldest buildings - a library where the English citizens of Quebec safeguard their history. And the death opens a door into the past, exposing a mystery that has lain dormant for centuries... a mystery Gamache must solve if he’s to catch a present-day killer. Steeped in luscious atmosphere, brimming with the suspense and wit that have earned Louise Penny a massive global following, Bury Your Dead is the most ingenious suspense novel of the year.
©2010 Louise Penny (P)2011 Hachette Digital
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Murder, an attractive detective, and terrific atmosphere . . . Impressive." ( The Times)
"Magic . . . an elegance and depth not often seen." ( The New York Times Book Review)
"Ingenious." ( Guardian)
"Shudders and suspense . . . terrific." ( Time Out)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £16.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Emily Marshall on 15-03-18

took a while to get into - but then i was hooked

I took a while to be gripped - but once I was I couldnt stop listening. it's my favourite Louise penny yet and the narrator didna fantastic job

Read more Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By L on 13-06-15


Not sure what is happening to this series. I really enjoyed the first 4 books, but the last 2 have been a real let down. It was nice that some of the parts of the last book were wrapped up in this book, but really it should have been finished in the last story. It didn't really make sense to shift part of it over to this book and kind of felt like it was put in simply to bulk out the book. I'm also starting to become a little annoyed by the increasingly rampant racism towards anyone that isn't French Canadian.

A real shame as, like I said, the first few books were enjoyable, however based on the last 2 I will be thinking twice before buying any further titles in the series.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Danielle on 19-09-11

Murder Mystery

This book left some questions unanswered until the end of the story. By doing this it keeps the reader engaged and guessing. I liked the setting of the story. The canadian content made the story more relavent to me. The author does a very good job of discribing the setting. You can feel the cold winter winds as you listen to it.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By D. Read on 14-11-16

Mixing the past with the recent past and present

Would you consider the audio edition of Bury Your Dead to be better than the print version?

I prefer audio

What was one of the most memorable moments of Bury Your Dead?

the final twists in an old case but the ongoing lead up to a terrible tragedy

What about Adam Sims’s performance did you like?

Love Adam Sims just started a new book with a different speaker and he's not quite got what Sim's has

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Bringing the past to the present

Any additional comments?

love this book

Read more Hide me
See all reviews