Careless in Red : Inspector Lynley

  • by Elizabeth George
  • Narrated by Charles Keating
  • Series: Inspector Lynley
  • 11 hrs and 25 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Thomas Lynley returns in the newest thrillingly satisfying crime drama from bestselling author Elizabeth George. It is barely three months since the murder of his wife and Thomas Lynley takes to the South-West Coast Path in Cornwall, determined to walk its length in an attempt to distract himself from his loss. On the forty-third day of this walk, he sees a cliff climber fall to his death - a death apparently witnessed by a surfer in a nearby cove. Shortly afterwards, Lynley encounters a young woman from Bristol whose personal history is a blank before her thirteenth year. These events propel him into a case that brings Barbara Havers from London and thrusts both detectives into a world where revenge is only one of the motives they must sift through to identify a killer.


What the Critics Say

"Her account of surfers' lives, with their terrifying techniques and almost religious passion is worth reading." (Literary Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Carelessly written, carelessly read.

Having greatly enjoyed the novel 'With no one as witness', I was keen to read another Inspector Lynley mystery. The synopsis of this book looked fine and seemed to follow on, so I bought it. From the outset, the narrator was incredibly irritating as his so-called Cornish accent seem to veer between Ireland, Norfolk, America and anywhere in between. His pronunciation of people's names and place names also changed constantly to the extent I wasn't always quite sure who was who. As for the story… It is hard to believe it's the same author of the book I had read previously. Dreadful, plodding, unbelievable… And Lynley has a fairly minor role. The only decent character is Havers and she only appears in the latter half of the book. This was beyond disappointing. It was dreadful.
Read full review

- DartmoorDiva

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-02-2009
  • Publisher: Hodder Headline Limited