Chase Baker and the Dutch Diamonds : Chase Baker Thrillers

  • by Vincent Zandri
  • Narrated by Andrew B Wehrlen
  • Series: Chase Baker Thrillers
  • 3 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the series Suspense Magazine voted the "Best of 2014!"
Chase Baker is famous for seeking out ancient antiquities and treasure from some of the most exotic, not to mention, dangerous locales on earth. But when he runs into fellow author, Les Edgerton, at SuspenseFest, a conference for thriller writers in NYC, the two get talking about the 1930s notorious gangster, Dutch Schultz, and the legend of his hidden treasure, which is said to be buried in a little town in upstate New York. Feeling fine from a few drinks at the hotel bar, Chase and Les decide to skip the festival in order to seek out some real suspense. That is, the location of the Dutch Schultz Treasure.
Little do they know, but another writer, a beautiful and talented author of true crime stories, will tail them all the way upstate. When she finally connects with them, she reveals her personal connection to the Schultz treasure which purportedly contains a fistful of priceless blue diamonds that were transported to America back in the mid-1800s by slaves. Slaves who, it turns out, were her great-great-grandparents. Armed with a map carved into the back of a man's skull, and having to fight off a team of very crooked and greedy Russians who are also seeking out the treasure, Chase and his team of literary irregulars land themselves into a heap of trouble and hair-raising adventures that promise to put them not only in prison, but in the hospital.
For fans of Dan Brown, J.R. Rain, Clive Cussler, and Russell Blake, best-selling Thriller Award winner Vincent Zandri delivers the latest in the romantic action and adventure pulp series Suspense Magazine voted as one of "The Best of 2014."

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

"More fun than Suspensefest."

Any additional comments?

Chase Baker and another writer escape from the Suspensefest convention they are attending and, over a few drinks decide to abandon boredom and instead search for the missing Schultz treasure that Edgerton had heard about. After a poor start, and an unfortunate encounter with a Russian father and son team, they are joined by another writer, this time of true crime, who claims she knows the real location, not that previously expected. How does she know? She is a defendant of Schultz's close servant at the time the treasure was hidden.

This is a fantastic Zandri romp with great throw away dialogue, adventure and fun. Much more fun than the Suspensefest and with the hope of enormous financial reward. The characters are great, the search exciting and, predictably, filled with difficulties and betrayals. One of the best in the Chase Baker series. As always, Andrew Wehrlen's narration is superb, well paced, each individual voice distinctive and appropriate, the whole a delight to the ear. He breathes even greater life and amusement into the text than that already present on the writing.A really enjoyable book.

My thanks to the rights holder for gifting me a copy of Chase Baker and the Dutch Diamonds, via Audiobook Boom. This is a great series, always exciting, constantly surprising and different. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a well performed easy listen of a light hearted, thrill filled book.

Read full review

- Norma Miles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-05-2017
  • Publisher: Vincent Zandri