Cover Her Face : Adam Dalgliesh

  • by P. D. James
  • Narrated by Daniel Weyman
  • Series: Adam Dalgliesh
  • 7 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An Adam Dalgliesh mystery. Cover Her Face is P. D. James' debut novel, the first Adam Dalgliesh mystery, and a thrilling work of crime fiction set in the English countryside, from the best-selling author of Death Comes to Pemberley and Children of Men.
From P. D. James, one of the masters of British crime fiction, comes the debut novel that introduced Scotland Yard detective Adam Dalgliesh. Set against the English countryside, Cover Her Face is a classic murder mystery filled with James' trademark plot twists, intrigue, and suspense.
Though the Martingale manor house has hosted the annual St Cedd's Church fête for generations, this year feels different. On top of organizing stalls and presiding over luncheon, the bishop, and the tea tent, Mrs Eleanor Maxie now also has to contend with the news of her son's sudden engagement to the new parlour maid, the sly and sensuous single mother Sally Jupp.
Sally has quite a reputation as a ruthless social climber, and no one at Martingale seems too happy about the engagement. But the Maxie family barely has time to contend with her wily ways - on the following morning the whole village is shocked by the discovery of Sally Jupp's body.
Investigating the violent death at the manor house, Detective Chief Inspector Adam Dalgliesh becomes embroiled in the complicated passions beneath the calm surface of English village life.
In Cover Her Face, award-winning P. D. James meticulously plots a complex story of family secrets and suspicion. The book was later adapted into a TV miniseries starring Roy Marsden as the inspector protagonist.
Meet the dark and brooding Dalgliesh - a gentleman, a poet, and a gifted detective - and listen to the novel that launched P. D. James' career as the world's preeminent crime writer.
P. D. James (1920-2014) was a bestselling and internationally acclaimed crime writer. She was the creator of Adam Dalgliesh and Cordelia Gray, and their long and successful series of mysteries. Her works include Cover Her Face (1962), An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (1972), Innocent Blood (1980), Children of Men (1992), and the Jane Austen-inspired Death Comes to Pemberley (2011). James was born in Oxford in 1920. She won awards for crime writing in Britain, America, Italy and Scandinavia, including the Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Award. She received honorary degrees from seven British universities, was awarded an OBE in 1983 and created a life peer in 1991. In 1997 she was elected President of the Society of Authors, and stood down from this role in 2013.


What the Critics Say

"A classic story of English rural murder." ( The Times)
"The greatest contemporary writer of classic crime." ( Sunday Times)
"There are very few thriller writers who can compete with P.D. James at her best." ( Spectator)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

it's early

This is an early P D James book and as such is interesting.
All the features we expect and love are here, a closed community of an upper class family in the loved old home, a few working class characters. A introduction by the end of which you want to murder the victim as do all the others in the story.
The story moves along and it looks like all of them have killed her, but in the finale Dalglish declares the murder to have been committed by.......
Read full review

- Mr David Newton

P D James - Excellent as always.

An excellent crime story as we have come to expect from the Queen of crime novels. The twists and turns, the red herrings and the clever storyline narrated brilliantly by Daniel Weyman , with his clever voice changes for either sex made it clearly outline who was who. Want to see if there is a DVD of this story, as it was so captivating.
Read full review

- Linda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-04-2015
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber