Fresh off the leave-of-absence he took following his ex-wife’s death, Detective Jackson’s life is in upheaval. He struggles to keep his grief-stricken daughter, Katie, in line, while trying to reinvigorate a passion for his work. When a body is found in a storage unit, he hopes for an open-and-shut homicide, but nothing in this case is as it appears. The same night the ex-con is murdered, a firebomb goes off in a bottled water factory across town. The prime suspects are from the organization Love the Earth - eco-terrorists who will go to extremes to spread their message. When Jackson discovers a shocking link between the murder case and the bombing, he’ll have to work alongside agents from the ATF and FBI to solve both cases before it’s too late.
©2013 L. J Sellers (P)2013 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £13.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £13.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By CathyR on 23-11-13

Enjoying this series a lot

In the latest book in the Detective Jackson series, we catch up with Wade Jackson as he returns to work after a leave of absence after accidentally shooting his ex wife. His daughter, Katie, blames her father for her mother's death and is rebellious and angry, dabbling in alcohol and drugs. Jackson is finding it very hard to cope with the turn his life has taken.

I've followed this series from the start and have enjoyed it very much. The characters are believable with real problems and issues. The story lines are never as simple as they first appear and usually have two plots woven together as well as following personal lives. In this instance Jackson investigates a suspicious death at a storage facility which leads on to a bombing at a local factory by a potential terrorist.

Patrick Lawlor has narrated most of the series (apart from the first two) and I like the regularity of listening to the same narrator. He does a great job, especially with Jackson, and differentiates well between the characters.

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Samara on 29-12-13

Great story; might be easier to read than listen

I love this series and will definitely explore this author's other work. The main characters are developed well, and I think these books could be read alone without missing previous insight from the novels before it. I also like how the characters are not the stereotypical perfect or bad but just misunderstood, etc. - their issues and reactions just seem a little more "real human".

My only thought about this particular story is that there are so many characters and names, it was really hard for me to remember, "who's that", or "what did this one do?" I found myself rewinding and trying to go back and find the connections. I think the story could have been just as good without throwing so many people in the mix, but I also think that this issue would make this a better read than a listen.

Having said all that, I am hooked, and can't wait for more!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews