It is Midsummer, 1631, and while Alexander Seaton and his fellow masters enjoy the holiday, Robert Sim, librarian of Marischal College, is murdered in a dark alleyway in town. As the university and town authorities investigate the murder, Seaton is asked by the college principal to look into Sim's private life. During the course of this research, Alexander discovers a side to the librarian he could never have guessed, and personal feelings threaten to cloud his judgment and endanger his new marriage.
It is only when a second, apparently unrelated murder comes to light that Seaton begins to piece together the connections between a young weaver, a consignment of books, and a college in the Low Countries in order to unmask the perpetrator of a years'-old deception.
©2012 Shona MacLean (P)2012 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £14.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Roger on 13-02-17

Another gripping tale

I have enjoyed following Andrew Seaton through three books now and enjoyed them all.
I had been concerned over the change of reader from the first to the second however should not have been, both were excellent.
I would recommend to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or who, like me, simply enjoys mystery/thrillers. I usually read thriller's based in the 20/21's century but enjoyed the change.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Bibliophile on 09-07-13

Trouble in Aberdeen

The Alexander Seaton books seem to divide people - you either like them or you don't. At times they can seem quite slow moving, which is strange as actually quite a lot happens in them. In this one, Seaton is asked to investigate a murder to ensure the good name of his college does not come into disrepute. More incidents follow, while Alexander has his usual personal crises to face. He is lucky in his friends.
Every now and then Shona MacLean gets us rather bogged down in the Rosicruceans, but her descriptions of a period notorious in Scottish history for its witchhunts is quite fascinating. I have read this series in order and think it might be difficult to tackle them as standalone novels, as the characters develop throughout, but the little explanations are possibly enough to help.
I have heard them all as audiobooks, and the change of narrator took a bit of getting used to, but Crawford Logan and David Monteith bring out slightly different character traits

Read more Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews