The hero of six New York Times bestsellers by Stephen Coonts, author of Flight of the Intruder and Fortunes of War, returns as the United States and Cuba engage in a terrifying game of brinksmanship, a gamble that could break the last military taboo and destroy both countries.
In Cuba, an ailing Fidel Castro lies dying. Across the Straits of Florida, an anxious US awaits the inevitable power struggle, determined to have a say in who controls this strategically invaluable island. And the American President has an added reason for concern: An Arms Control Conference has just begun in Paris and, unbeknownst to either the American public or Cuba, the US has hidden secret weapons inside the American base on Cuba's Guantanamo Bay. But no secret remains one for long, and when one of the Cuban factions finds out about the weapons, the excitement begins.
Only Admiral Grafton, on an aircraft carrier off the coast of Cuba, knows the impending danger. Only Grafton can save America from a disaster that would make the Bay of Pigs look like child's play. In Cuba, Stephen Coonts captures the ominous feel of a tropical powder keg about to explode in a novel filled with the action and drama for which he is famous.
©1999 Stephen Coonts (P)2013 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £13.59

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £13.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 08-05-16

Great espionage novel!

Cuba was first released in 1999 so the events in it are a bit out of date, but that's true of Soviet era espionage thrillers. This book is set in the post Soviet era of the late 1990's. The subject is weapons of mass destruction including biological and nuclear.

This is the 7th Book in the 11 novel Admiral Jake Grafton series (the most recent is not available n audiobook format). Cuba also introduces Tommy Carmellini of the CIA who Coonts went on to make a series of his own. Most of the Tommy Carmellini series also includes Jake Grafton.

Stephen Coonts has never achieved the fame of Tom Clancy, but his books are as good as Clancy's.

I highly recommend the Jake Grafton espionage series.

Read more Hide me

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By david h. on 01-06-17

How many times is Castro going to die

Castro died in under siege, how many more times will he die in this series???

Read more Hide me
See all reviews