Darkly Dreaming Dexter : Dexter

  • by Jeff Lindsay
  • Narrated by Jeff Lindsay
  • Series: Dexter
  • 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dexter Morgan isn't exactly the kind of man you'd bring home to your mum. At heart he's the perfect gentleman: He has a shy girlfriend and seems to lead a quiet, normal life bordering on the mundane. Despite the fact that he can't stand the sight of blood, he works as a blood-spatter analyst for the Miami police.
But Dexter also has a secret hobby: He is an accomplished serial killer. So far he's killed 36 people and has never been caught because he knows exactly how to hide the evidence. And while that may lead some people to assume he's not such a nice guy, he tempers his insatiable hunger for brutality by killing only the bad guys.
However, Dexter's well-organised life is suddenly disrupted when a second, much more visible serial killer appears in Miami. Intrigued that the other killer favours a style similar to his own, Dexter soon realises that the mysterious new arrival is not simply invading his turf but offering him a direct invitation to come out and play....
Narrated by the author.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Delicious Downloaded Dexter

There is a very good reason why authors rarely read their own books for audio productions: most are simply out of their depth, not up to the job. But this is definitely not the case with Jeff Lindsey. Not only did he write this delicious story, he becomes Dexter, the police blood splatter expert who is also a serial killer.
Most people will be aware of the riveting television series. The book is slightly different but even better; Recounted by Dexter himself, we live with him through his every thought, see through his eyes as he talks to his Dark Passenger and interacts with the humans around him. The writing is excellent, too, darkly comical at times, with frequent fun alliteration.
Highly recommended. Now, time to start book two.
Read full review

- Norma Miles


Having seen the series I thought I would listen to the book and it is so much better than you could imagine would 100% recommend it and will be listening to the others in the series without hesitation
Read full review

- Kristopher J. Sumner

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-06-2015
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group