Dead Man's Curve : Cal Murphy

  • by Jack Patterson
  • Narrated by Bill Cooper
  • Series: Cal Murphy
  • 4 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sometimes the rumors are true ....
In the hills of Kentucky, the people of Millersville lead a charmed life thanks to the city's biggest employer, Lee Creek Distilleries, and its sly CEO, Wilfred Lee. Until the one night things go sideways, and the town's favorite son, Kentucky basketball recruit Josh Hood, becomes a prime murder suspect.
When Atlanta reporter Cal Murphy and his wife, Kelly, make a stop in Millersville as a favor to a family friend to find out what's really going on, the powers that be frown on the attention. It doesn't take long before Cal and Kelly rile up the town and its corrupt law enforcement - and they find themselves fighting for their lives and livelihood in the pursuit of not only the truth but justice.
Fans of Nelson DeMille, John Sanford, Stieg Larsson, and Lee Child will enjoy this new book from best-selling author Jack Patterson.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

5 star reviews???

Ye Gods - this book had so many 5 star reviews on Amazon that I thought it would be good, the synopsis peaked my interest so I thought I'd give it a try.

I have never read such a load of dosh in my life. The writing was as if done by a teenager - everyone 'snickered' or 'giggled' or 'whimpered'. The hero 'Rubbed his stomach thinking of morning doughnuts, which were stale - but hit the spot'

There was no development of plot - this guy just changed his mind about who he thought the murderer was, because of an anonymous phone call telling him the accused was innocent.

At one stage a man held a room full of men at gunpoint, but took the time to read out loud a very long entry from a diary - nobody seemed to take the opportunity to overturn his power, even though he was supposedly holding them at gunpoint. The rescue was like something from a farce - absolutely hilarious. One man coming in and overpowering the guy with a gun - then another breaking in and overpowering the second man with a gun.

The characters were not developed - barely TWO dimensional - Goodness me - I could go on and on - but will spare you any more.

Must say - the reading was AWFUL too


I am still really puzzled by the 5* reviews.


Read full review

- mollyeyre

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2015
  • Publisher: Green E-Books