Dead Simple : Roy Grace

  • by Peter James
  • Narrated by Tim Bruce
  • Series: Roy Grace
  • 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It was meant to be a harmless stag-night prank. A few hours later Michael Harrison has disappeared, and his friends are dead.
With only three days to the wedding, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace - a man haunted by the shadow of his own missing wife - is contacted by Michael's beautiful, distraught fiancée, Ashley Harper.
Grace discovers that the one man who ought to know Michael Harrison's whereabouts is saying nothing. But then he has a lot more to gain than anyone realizes, for one man's disaster is another man's fortune....
Dead Simple is the stunning first novel in the number-one best-selling Roy Grace series from award-winning author Peter James.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Having just finished the Frieda Klein stories by Nicci French, I was looking for a worthy replacement... Scared that I couldn't find one, I bought this. WOW! Fantastic, I enjoyed it thoroughly (couldn't stop listening to it!) and am thrilled that this is a long, long series of books! I'm going to start the second in the series straight away. If in doubt, BUY IT!
Read full review

- Keetz

Accidental Partridge

Roy Grace is a really unpleasant character. Every woman he meets is judged on her looks and he is perpetually aggravated by minutiae. He'd be the worst colleague in the world but I think he's meant to be the hero. Here's a typical description of one of his co-workers: 'Either she has rocks in her bra or seriously large breasts'. The word 'horny' crops up more than once which is frankly unforgivable. I could hear Alan Partridge all the way through. The author seems to be trying to up his word count by describing every single thing that happens. The scene where Grace is in a pub and it describes every single detail of the drinks is excruciating. The narrator was a little over enthusiastic and sounded like an outraged Daily Mail reader in parts. I stuck it out until the end to find out what happened to the missing guy - the plot wasn't terrible. Using a medium to solve bits of the case is a lazy device though and led me feeling like I'd wasted a lot of time for nothing.
Read full review

- C. Harrison

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-03-2016
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.