Dead by Midnight : Dead By Trilogy

  • by Beverly Barton
  • Narrated by Karen White
  • Series: Dead By Trilogy
  • 15 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In murder…
The last sounds Dean Wilson hears are a clock striking twelve and a killer’s taunting words. And his death is just the first. One by one, victims are stalked and shot at close range. Only the killer knows their sins, and who will be the next to die at midnight?
And in life…
In the ten years since her Hollywood career imploded, Lorie Hammonds has built a good life in her Alabama hometown. When the first death threat arrives, she assumes it’s a joke. Then she gets a second. Sheriff Mike Birkett, her high school sweetheart, has avoided Lorie since she returned to Dunmore, but when investigators uncover her connection to a string of recent murders, he’s drawn into a case that’s terrifyingly personal.
Timing is everything.
With every murder, the killer edges closer. Soon Lorie’s will be the last name left on his list. Her only hope is to unearth a deadly secret—before the clock runs out for good.


What the Critics Say

“The popular and dependable Barton has again created an intricately plotted, thoroughly engrossing serial killer tale that satisfactorily resolves the current dilemmas but leaves a stunning cliff-hanger.” ( Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Would you listen to Dead by Midnight again? Why?


Any additional comments?

A little predictable, but good all the same. I did feel some of the characters were weak.

Read full review

- Sally Barwick

Sins of the past

In a small town where everyone knows your business, a woman is trying to forget her past where an acting job ended in an adult movie. Her old flame is the sheriff and although they both still have the hots for each other, he can't forget how she left him to pursue her career.

The woman is soon in danger as all the actors in her fabled movie are bumped off one-by-one. Maybe this will bring her and the sheriff closer?
Read full review

- sarahmoose2000

Book Details

  • Release Date: 15-08-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.