Jack Ryan, the former president of the United States, is out of office, but not out of the loop about his brainchild, the "Campus" - a highly effective, counter-terrorism organization that operates outside the Washington hierarchy. But what Ryan doesn't know is that his son, Jack Ryan, Jr., has joined his cousins, Brian and Dominic Caruso, at the shadowy Campus. While a highly effective analyst, young Ryan hungers for the action of a field agent.
The Campus has now turned their sights on the Emir, the number-one terrorist threat to Western civilization. A reclusive figure and mastermind of vicious terrorist acts, the Emir has eluded capture by the world's law-enforcement agencies. But now - with the help of ex-CIA agent John Clark and protégé Marine Colonel Ding Chavez - the Campus is in on the hunt. The mission: to bring the Emir in - dead or alive.
Take another thrill ride with Jack Ryan.
©2010 Tom Clancy (P)2010 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £18.39

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £18.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By David on 10-02-11

Classic Tom Clancy Action

I bought 'Dead or Alive' as I am going on holiday in a few months and wanted to have a few books stocked up to listen to on the plane and on the beach.

Unfortunately within 3 days of buying the audio-book I'd listened to it all. I just wanted to listen to the first bit to check it was downloaded OK but then I was hooked.

In terms of the actual plot and characters, it's typical Tom Clancy, if you've enjoyed the Rainbow Six and other 'Ryan' books you'll enjoy this one. It's very much the same but different.

It's gritty military/spy fiction - probably not going to win any prizes for the most cunning twist in the tail but it's very easy to listen to, particularly if you don't want to get bogged down in the detail about if things would really happen like that in real life. From memory in previous books the accuracy seemed to be a bit better - particularly on bits that were central to the plot.

There's a whole host of things that are just a little bit technically inaccurate but after all it is supposed to be fiction. For Example - There's a bit about fake aircraft transponders that was a bit iffy.

Overall an absolute classic Tom Clancy plot that I found difficult to put down. Some of it a bit far-fetched and in some places a bit predictable but nevertheless very entertaining fiction with a decent enough smattering of real events/capabilities/places to keep you interested.

I would give it 8 out of 10 if you know what you are getting into and are looking for a bit of blunt-force-trauma rather than brain-surgery. Worth a listen.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Lady Pamela on 25-10-15

Dead? Maybe this book?

Plowed through this book on the power of it's author, but wasn't too impressed. There was a lot of action, yes. But, even in it's condensed version, was 9 hours or so and contained a lot of droll discussion. What must the unabridged version be? That meant there was little character development--only the bad guys were new characters and they didn't last for the duration. The plot was pretty, after a terrorist. I'm not giving up on Clancy, yet!

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Steve B on 28-09-15


Another writer carrying on the Tom Clancy legacy. A recommended read for those that enjoyed Clancy's books.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews