Deadly Straits : Tom Dugan

  • by R. E. McDermott
  • Narrated by Todd Haberkorn
  • Series: Tom Dugan
  • 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and W.E.B. Griffin, R. E. McDermott delivers a thriller to rival the masters.
When marine engineer and very part-time spook Tom Dugan becomes collateral damage in the War on Terror, he's not about to take it lying down.
Falsely implicated in a hijacking, he's offered a chance to clear himself by helping the CIA snare their real prey, Dugan's best friend, London ship owner Alex Kairouz. Reluctantly, Dugan agrees to go undercover in Alex's company, despite doubts about his friend's guilt. Once undercover, Dugan's steadfast refusal to accept Alex's guilt puts him at odds not only with his CIA superiors, but also with a beautiful British agent with whom he's romantically involved.
When a tanker is found adrift near Singapore with a dead crew, and another explodes in Panama as Alex lies near death after a suspicious suicide attempt, Dugan is framed for the attacks. Out of options, and convinced the attacks are prelude to an even more devastating assault, Dugan eludes capture to follow his last lead to Russia, only to be shanghaied as an "advisor" to a Russian Spetsnaz unit on a suicide mission.
Deadly Straits is a nonstop thrill ride, from London streets, to the dry docks of Singapore, to the decks of the tankers that feed the world's thirst for oil, with stops along the way in Panama, Langley, Virginia, and Teheran. Richly spiced with detail from the author's 30 years sailing, building, and repairing ships worldwide, it is, in the words of one reviewer, "fast-paced, multilayered, and gripping."

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Some Genuine Strait Talking

A debut novel from a self-published author. Always interesting territory and in this case it brings a decent reward for the time invested. Initially when I read the blurb for this one it sounded just a little out there to me. For some reason I imagined this Dugan character as being some shipping world version of James Bond. Luckily for us readers McDermott never falls into the traps of investing his lead with unlikely powers or making him another ultra-smug super character constantly out-thinking the others. Instead we have an author that likes to build fairly large casts of characters and allow each one of them to own their part of the plot which adds greatly to the realism.

What also adds to the realism is his undoubted expertise in maritime practices born of thirty years real world experience. Again McDermott avoids the pitfall of overdoing the technical detail and while the plot is made fairly convincing by the depth of his knowledge it is rarely allowed to bog the book down. As a result the book moves at a very decent pace and there is plenty of action to get stuck into. The narration is smooth and Todd Haberkorn rises manfully to the challenge of the culturally diverse characters. For us Brits one or two Americanisms do creep in but by and large it’s a fine performance will well delineated characters.

As mentioned above there is a large cast and fairly complex plot so not one to listen to while distracted for sure. That cast is well looked after though and all the loose ends are neatly tied up and the characters each tended through to their own personal endings. I did actually receive a free copy of this audiobook from the author in exchange for a fair review. I feel like I’ve ripped him off as a result so I will in the future proceed to buy the rest of the series and surely there is no more genuine recommendation than that?
Read full review

- Simon "A man with a child in his ears - @ShutterSpin."

Good plot. Great listening

Loved this and will start out listening to the sequel in a few short minutes.
Read full review

- Jiboye

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2012
  • Publisher: R. E. McDermott