Deadly Straits : Tom Dugan

  • by R. E. McDermott
  • Narrated by Todd Haberkorn
  • Series: Tom Dugan
  • 10 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler, Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and W.E.B. Griffin, R. E. McDermott delivers a thriller to rival the masters.
When marine engineer and very part-time spook Tom Dugan becomes collateral damage in the War on Terror, he's not about to take it lying down.
Falsely implicated in a hijacking, he's offered a chance to clear himself by helping the CIA snare their real prey, Dugan's best friend, London ship owner Alex Kairouz. Reluctantly, Dugan agrees to go undercover in Alex's company, despite doubts about his friend's guilt. Once undercover, Dugan's steadfast refusal to accept Alex's guilt puts him at odds not only with his CIA superiors, but also with a beautiful British agent with whom he's romantically involved.
When a tanker is found adrift near Singapore with a dead crew, and another explodes in Panama as Alex lies near death after a suspicious suicide attempt, Dugan is framed for the attacks. Out of options, and convinced the attacks are prelude to an even more devastating assault, Dugan eludes capture to follow his last lead to Russia, only to be shanghaied as an "advisor" to a Russian Spetsnaz unit on a suicide mission.
Deadly Straits is a nonstop thrill ride, from London streets, to the dry docks of Singapore, to the decks of the tankers that feed the world's thirst for oil, with stops along the way in Panama, Langley, Virginia, and Teheran. Richly spiced with detail from the author's 30 years sailing, building, and repairing ships worldwide, it is, in the words of one reviewer, "fast-paced, multilayered, and gripping."

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good plot. Great listening

Loved this and will start out listening to the sequel in a few short minutes.
Read full review

- Jiboye

Great read/listen

Time well spent. Really enjoyed this book and the other two in the series. Good characters, well researched locations and nicely guaged action. I'll be looking for more from Mr McDermott.
Read full review

- potamus29

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2012
  • Publisher: R. E. McDermott