Death in Devon (The County Guides)

  • by Ian Sansom
  • Narrated by Mike Grady
  • 7 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Cream teas! School dinners! Satanic surfers! Join our heroes as they follow up The Norfolk Mystery with a bad case of...Death in Devon.
Swanton Morley, the People's Professor, sets off for Devon to continue his history of England, The County Guides. Morley's daughter, Miriam, and his assistant, Stephen Sefton, pack up the Lagonda for a trip to the English Riviera.
Morley has been invited to give the Founder's Day speech at All Souls School in Rousdon. But when the trio arrive, they discover that a boy has died in mysterious circumstances. Was it an accident or was it - murder?Join Morley, Sefton, and Miram on another adventure into the dark heart of 1930s England.


What the Critics Say

Praise for The Norfolk Mystery:
"A delightful, idiosyncratic mystery.... Professor Morley promises to become a little gem of English crime writing; sample him now." (Daily Mail)
"A brilliant first outing that leaves you looking forward to the next maniacal mystery tour." (Evening Standard)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Exceptionally entertaining

This is the second of Ian Sansom's enormously engaging "County Guides" series, and I can't wait for the next. The creation of Swanton Morley is a master stroke.

Mike Grady is exactly right for this book. He brings Morley to life in all his maddening glory, and gives Sefton a very satisfying wry candour. Funny, with the occasional dark motif as contrast, this audiobook is a treat I shall return to.

Heartily recommended.
Read full review

- C Hall

Another fine outing for the intrepid team

Ian Sansom applies his fine intelligence to this thirties satire to give us Arthur Mee meets Agatha Christie replete with modernist notes. It's all hugely enjoyable and lent plenty of gusto with Mike Grady's excellent performance. Westmorland next - long may the series continue.
Read full review

- P. J. T. Brown

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-03-2015
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited