Death of a Gossip : Hamish Macbeth Mysteries

  • by M. C. Beaton
  • Narrated by David Monteath
  • Series: Hamish Macbeth Mysteries
  • 4 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When society widow and gossip columnist Lady Jane Winters joins the local fishing class she wastes no time in ruffling feathers of those around her. Among the victims of her sharp tongue is Lochdubh constable Hamish Macbeth, yet not even Hamish thinks someone would seriously want to silence Lady Jane's shrill voice permanently - until her strangled body is fished out of the river.
Now with the help of the lovely Priscilla Halburton-Smythe, Hamish must steer a course through the choppy waters of the tattler's life to find a murderer. But with a school of suspects who aren't willing to talk, and the dead woman telling no tales, Hamish may well be in over his head for he knows that secrets are dangerous, knowledge is power, and killers when cornered usually do strike again.
M. C. Beaton is the author of the best-selling Agatha Raisin series. She has also written several Regency romance series. She lives between Paris and the Cotswolds.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

fishing by m c Beaton !!!

I understand the need for a backstory but morefishing information than murder mystery? ?
Read full review

- jan west

Back to the beginning

it has been a while since I read this the first in a long series of Hamish books and has a flavour of the classic murder mystery in its setting. A fishing school in a beautiful highland setting turns ugly and the star of the series Hamish uses his family contacts and various other wiles to solve the case and helps a liitle boy out into the bargain. This is not hard hitting but rather a cosy escapism with touches of humour. I personally like the little bit about the higland midges when getting coffee in spite of Lady Jane. The author has actually lived in Scotland and the Cotswolds where she sets her other series about Agatha Raisin so is writing about what she knows.
Read full review

- Orangesan Lemons

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios