Death of a Kingfisher : Hamish Macbeth Mysteries

  • by M. C. Beaton
  • Narrated by David Monteath
  • Series: Hamish Macbeth Mysteries
  • 6 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

PC Hamish Macbeth can't help but admire the resourcefulness of the Highlanders during the recession - in tough times they have to lure tourists to their sleepy towns and the quaint village of Braikie has come up with a novel solution. It really doesn't have that much to offer apart from a place of rare beauty called Buchan's Wood, which the clued-up local tourist board director has rechristened "The Fairy Glen" and has had brochures printed with a beautiful kingfisher rising from a lake on the cover. It isn't long before coach tours begin to arrive but just as the town's luck starts to turn, a kingfisher is found hanging from a branch in the woods with a noose around its neck. As a wave of vandalism threatens to ruin Braikie forever it is up to Hamish to get involved, and his investigation quickly turns from mistreatment of birds to murder.…
M. C. Beaton is the author of the best-selling Agatha Raisin series. She has also written several Regency romance series. She lives between Paris and the Cotswolds.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Better when kept small M C

The Hamish Macbeth books, like her Agatha Raisin ones, are not literature. What they are is little books with loveable characters that you get addicted to.
MC Beaton has her writing ticks, phrases and little plot devices that pop up over and over again but we don't mind because the books are light and easy. The scenery is nice and we just gloss over the flaws.
This book though, with its over-inticate plot of drug dealers, psychotic youth and God knows what else, pushed the boundaries too far. It got preposterous and she just isn't a good enough writer to do this.
Hopefully the next book with stay somewhere within the realms of stretchy credulity. With Hamish stuck in Lochbubh with a plot not gleamed from too much tv
Read full review

- Sue

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios