Defiance : Thirteenth Legion Series

  • by Eric Gardner
  • Narrated by Meral Mathews
  • Series: Thirteenth Legion Series
  • 5 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Evil comes in many forms. Gabriel Willis missed the warning signs of its imminent arrival. As a result, blood, pain, and misery are now his unwanted companions. A loving father, devoted husband, and former soldier, he no longer leads a normal life. After being arrested, falsely accused of terrorism and tortured, he discovers his family has been kidnapped. The madman responsible has handed him the complicated task of traveling halfway around the world to the mountains of Afghanistan. There he must find Othia and return with her, or his family will die.
A brilliant archaeologist, Othia has unearthed a secret truth hidden deep beneath the sands of an ancient Afghan village. A truth that will alter the lives of hundreds of thousands - including Gabriel and Othia.
Left with an impossible decision, Gabriel must choose: fulfill his destiny or risk the destruction of humanity. With the weight of the world upon him, Gabriel struggles to answer the impossible question: when should a father and husband place the needs of the many above the needs of his precious few.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

"I mean, come on, Gabriel: angels. ANGELS!"

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

This is not the first of a series but the opening part of a serial, basically setting the scene for further books to come.

Any additional comments?

The opening scenes to Defiance are exciting, rather mysterious. A well respected, retired army officer who fought in Afghanistan, is wrongly seized from his home and held on charges of terrorism. Shortly after, his wife and two children are kidnapped, again by an armed force, but this time it is by the group which had set up the husband. They are taken 'into protection' in an exotically furnished mansion somewhere unknown. Later, this same group rescues the ex-soldier and use the custody of his family to blackmail him into working for them. They are brutal and mean business, killing his best friend in front of him.
So Gabriel, the soldier, accepts the commission - to bring back the archaeologist who has been working on a recently discovered temple or, if this is impossible, her notebooks.

The story so far is certainly exciting with heavy supernatural elements..But, as previously mentioned, is only the first part of a serial and, therefore, incomplete. For this reason I cannot rate is more highly than three stars.

The narration by Meral Matthews is good, aiding the tension and somewhat soothing the confusion inherent in the early text. His voicing of the various protagonists is also clear and each is individual. It is his reading which, for this reader, brought the greatest realism to the story so far.

I received Defiance as a freely given gift from the rights holder, via Audiobook Boom. My thanks for that. However, without having heard the rest of this on going story, I am reluctant to recommend it without fully stressing the unfinished nature of this opening section of a serial.

Read full review

- Norma Miles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-01-2017
  • Publisher: Eric Gardner