Diamond Solitaire : Peter Diamond

  • by Peter Lovesey
  • Narrated by Michael Tudor Barnes
  • Series: Peter Diamond
  • 11 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Peter Diamond, ex-CID and notoriously difficult to work with, is sacked from his latest job as a security guard in Harrods. Doggedly he turns his sleuthing skills to unravelling the mystery of a little Japanese girl abandoned in London. Naomi, as she is known, exhibits the classic symptoms of an autistic child.
Diamond regards her first as a challenge and soon as someone he cares passionately about and devotes himself to communicating with the child. He is close to a breakthrough when Naomi is abducted to New York.
By interpreting clues from drawings left by Naomi, Diamond goes in pursuit and is plunged into a maelstrom of murder and the mafia, suicide and drugs.


What the Critics Say

"Excellent." (Birmingham Post)
"Phone-off-the-hook-time." (Independent)
"Here is a classic quest story intertwining kidnapping, murder, deception, fraud and farce with a Sumo wrestler in the unlikely role of fairy godmother. Lovesey sustains his reputation as a deft mystifier in one of the choicest crime-shelf entertainments of the year." (Guardian)
"Lovesey hatches the trickiest of plots, warmed with humour and characterisation to make them credible." (Literary Review)
"Superb, unashamedly traditional crime writing." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Love this series, I didn't manage to work out who did it until the end!
Read full review

- Jenny Hodgkins

not credible or believable

Would you try another book written by Peter Lovesey or narrated by Michael Tudor Barnes?

yes -only because most are better than this one

What could Peter Lovesey have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

not write it -it was a follow up book and to be different had diamond leave police force and become private detective travelling uk and usa getting inside police offices - not credible

Which character – as performed by Michael Tudor Barnes – was your favourite?

none memorable

Do you think Diamond Solitaire needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

after this book back on straight and narrow police detective

Read full review

- D R

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-02-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK