Dig Two Graves (The Detective Solomon Gray Series 1)

  • by Keith Nixon
  • Narrated by Ben Onwukwe
  • 6 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Was it suicide… or murder? When teenager Nick Buckingham tumbles from the fifth floor of an apartment block, Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray answers the call with a sick feeling in his stomach. The victim was just a kid, sixteen years old. And the exact age the detective's son, Tom, would've been, had he not gone missing at a funfair ten years ago. Each case involving children haunts Gray with the reminder that his son may still be out there - or worse, dead. The seemingly open and shut case of suicide twists into a darker discovery. Buckingham and Gray have never met, so why is Gray's number on the dead teenager's mobile phone?

With his boss, Detective Inspector Yvonne Hamson, Gray begins to unravel a murky world of abuse, lies, and corruption. An investigator from the Met is called in to assist, setting the local police on edge. And when the body of Reverend David Hill is found shot to death in the vestry of Gray's old church, Gray wonders how far the depravity stretches and who might be next.

Nothing seems connected, and yet there is one common thread: Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray, himself. As the bodies pile up, Gray must face his own demons. Crippled by loss but determined to find the truth, Gray takes the first step on the long road of redemption.

Set in the once grand town of Margate in the south of England, the now broken and depressed seaside resort becomes its own character in this dark detective thriller. "Dig Two Graves" is the first book in a series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. The crime series is perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James.

About the Author:
Keith Nixon is a British born writer of crime and historical fiction novels. Originally, he trained as a chemist, but Keith is now in a senior sales role for a high-tech business. Keith currently lives with his family in the North West of England.

More

What the Critics Say


...deeply emotional, a dark rollercoaster ride.
-- Ed James, author of bestselling "DI Fenchurch series"

The book is just fantastic. Rare to rarest to find wonderful heart kickin' compassion in a crime novel. Solomon is a true keeper.
-- Ken Bruen, author of the "Jack Taylor series"

A compelling murder mystery with a multilayered and engaging new hero. Great read.
-- Mason Cross, author of the "Carter Blake thriller series"

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent debut novel

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. DS Solomon Grey is a complex character with years of emotional baggage which he carries around with him.
As a result of this he comes across as a dour, irascible character who is not really liked by many of his colleagues.
Despite all this, Keith’s excellent writing style makes you want the best for Sol as he endeavours to solve the case of a young, apparent suicide victim.
At the end of a book, there is teaser, which leads you to believe there will be more to come from Solomon Grey!
Read full review

- Sweetpea

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-10-2017
  • Publisher: Lübbe Audio