Double Whammy : Davis Way Crime Caper

  • by Gretchen Archer
  • Narrated by Dina Pearlman
  • Series: Davis Way Crime Caper
  • 9 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Davis Way thinks she's hit the jackpot when she lands a job as the fifth wheel on an elite security team at the fabulous Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. But once there, she runs straight into her ex-ex husband, a rigged slot machine, her evil twin, and a trail of dead bodies.
Davis learns the truth, and it does not set her free - in fact, it lands her in the pokey. Buried under a mistaken identity, unable to seek help from her family, her hot streak runs cold until her landlord, Bradley Cole, steps in. Make that her landlord, lawyer, and love interest. With his help, Davis must win this high-stakes game before her luck runs out.
This book is part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all! Double Whammy is the first book in the Davis Way humorous mystery series.

More

What the Critics Say

"Funny & wonderful & human. It gets the Stephanie Plum seal of approval." (Janet Evanovich)
"Archer navigates a satisfyingly complex plot and injects plenty of humor as she goes. This madcap debut is a winning hand for fans of Janet Evanovich and Deborah Coonts." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

No

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

I was disappointed in this book as I had seen it had a lot of 5 star reviews and my expectations for it were high.
The story very difficult to get into. It didn't grab my attention in the opening chapters and from there on it was a chore to keep going with it. An easy book to put down; I even considered dropping it completely but I persevered with it. However, I won't be picking up any of the other titles in the series.
The story line was very disjointed and the romance was all very weird, stalker-ish and rushed as the two characters only meet each other officially towards the end of the book.
What annoyed me most was the silly comedy. The humour in the story was centred round Davis saying and doing really mind numbing, stupid things. But rather than finding her endearing and funny I found her extremely irritating.

I like sharp witted, intelligent humour and this book did not provide any at all.


Any additional comments?

The narrator did a good job.

Read full review

- Inishowen Cailín

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios