• Down Cemetery Road

  • By: Mick Herron
  • Narrated by: Anna Bentinck
  • Series: Zoe Boehm, Book 1
  • Length: 13 hrs and 32 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 29-03-11
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (71 ratings)


Sarah Tucker - a young married woman, bored and unhappy with her life - becomes obsessed with trying to find a little girl who disappears after a neighbouring house is destroyed by a massive explosion. She soon discovers that people she thought long dead are still alive and those living are fast joining the dead. What begins in suburban south Oxford ends on a remote and unwelcoming Scottish island as the hunt for the missing child takes Sarah out of her marriage and onto a journey with a troubled ex-soldier. A brooding sense that there are secret forces raged against her make this story of a young woman caught in a web of deception powerful and dramatic.
©2003 Mick Herron (P)2004 Isis Publishing Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £15.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £15.09

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Andy on 18-08-16

Slow to start but an inferno by the end!

Any additional comments?

I, like many other readers, bought this book after reading the Slough House series by Mick Herron.
While it was a big difference for me to have a female narrator, (so many of my books being by Sean Barrett, Peter Forbes or Saul Reichlin), Anna Bentinck does a wonderful job of portraying the individual characters within this book.
I tend to buy the Unabridged versions of books to get the whole story and not what someone else thinks the Author wanted to say / write, this book was definitely one where, at the beginning, I wished I had bought an abridged version. It took a lonbg time to get going as such, although you are never really waiting for blood & glory from the start of any book, I felt this one took a long time to really get going. that said once it got started it moved along at a really strong pace and never slowed until the end.
I hope you enjoy the story as much as I did, I'm in the process of downloading the next in the series, "The last voice you hear."

Read more Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By JANE PRIOR on 07-06-15

Excellent book

Great plot and characters who are believable and credible. Tensions build after first hour of listening so stick with the audio book and you will be amply rewarded.

Read more Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By John on 30-04-12

Not bad, but this author has better

I really enjoyed Slow Horses by Mick Herron, and got this book based on that. But have to say that i found this to be a bit slow and drawn out in places. I really like the way Herron writes (no forced metaphors trying to prove he's witty - just good stuff), but the story itself didn't grab me here. It was ok, and worth a listen, i just wish it hadn't been as long maybe... Narration was good.

Read more Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Robin on 21-06-16

Not his best

This is a fairly typical Mick Herron. The basic premise is that the British Secret Service is basically totally immoral and its principal activity is murdering people to cover up appalling crimes by the military and government. The body count is enormous and the plot is far-fetched to the point of being completely incredible. But it's fast paced and there are unexpected twists every few pages and it's diverting enough.

Anna Bentinck is serviceable as the reader but I don't think her voice is really suited to this stuff.

The best Mick Herrons are the Slow Horses trilogy read by Sean Barrett.

Read more Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all reviews