Dwelling : Subdue

  • by Thomas S. Flowers
  • Narrated by Rick Gregory
  • Series: Subdue
  • 7 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A group of inseparable childhood friends are now adults, physically and psychologically devastated by war....
A horrifying creature emerges from a sandstorm just before Ricky Smith dies in battle. Forced to leave base housing, his widow Maggie buys a home on Oak Lee Road in the town of Jotham. Maggie is isolated in the historic house...and disconcerted by strange clicking sounds inside the walls.
Jonathan Steele attempts to drink the painful past away....
Jonathan was wounded in that fateful battle and now suffers from PTSD. He wants to put the nightmare behind him, but when Ricky's ghost appears with cryptic warnings about Maggie's house, he begins to question his sanity.
Bobby Weeks is a homeless veteran struggling with a lycanthropic curse....
Afraid of bringing harm, Bobby stays far away from those he loves. But after a full moon, a mysterious woman approaches him and reveals a vision about a house with a sinister presence, and he realizes staying away might no longer be an option.
Minister Jake Williams lost his faith on the battlefield....
While Jake will do anything to reconnect with God, he turns to vices to fill the religious void. But a church elder urges him to take a sabbatical, and a ghost tells him to quit the ministry, and his life is more out of control than ever.
When Maggie wakes in a strange subterranean cavern, she can't deny her home harbors dark secrets. Desperate, she sends letters to her old friends to reunite in Jotham, and events conspire to draw them all to the house...unaware of the danger awaiting them.
The friends have already been through hell, but can any of them survive the evil dwelling beneath the House on Oak Lee?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Unseen unless seen and then it becomes apparent

Not so much the first of a series but the beginnings of a serial. Had the ending not occurred so abruptly without any resolution, and without forwarding, this reader would have ascribed a five star rating - so be warned.

Five childhood friends, Bobby, Jake, Jonathan, Ricky and Maggie are a very close group with the usual naughtiness and secrets of youth. And they call themselves The Suicide Squad after favourite comic book heroes. When war in Iraq comes, the four males join up. Maggie, by then married to Ricky, stays behind. What follows is both perfectly realistic - and very bizarre.

The earliest scenes in this book, with Jonathan and Ricky serving together, is probably one of the most fraught and mundane images of inside the mind of a soldier that this this reader has encountered. It felt so real. And very atmospheric. Indeed, that runs through the entire story, the 'after they come home' normalcy mixed with the horrors each of the gang, including Maggie, confronts. The pace is slow moving but the tension is always there, gripping and growing, puzzling and demanding to know what is going on? What happens next?

A fascinating story well performed by the narrator, Rick Gregory. I confess that, at the beginning, his reading seemed rather downbeat even though the character dialogue was excellent. But very soon it became apparent that his interpretation of the text was just right, mirroring the blankness of the protagonist's surroundings. An excellent performance meeting text and narration into one whole experience.

This is an horror story made all the more so by the ordinariness of the people and the plight of battle 'heroes' after they return. But nothing is normal for the gang. I was really fortunate in receiving a complimentary copy of Dwelling from the rights holder, at my request, via Audiobook Boom. Thank you so much. And I will certainly be looking out for the next book: I just have to know what happens.
Read full review

- Norma Miles

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-10-2017
  • Publisher: Shadow Work Publishing