Eeny Meeny : Helen Grace

  • by M. J. Arlidge
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell, Annie Aldington
  • Series: Helen Grace
  • 9 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Eeny Meeny, the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge. Read by Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell and Annie Aldington.
The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: Kill or be killed. Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?
Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case. And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die...
Introducing M. J. Arlidge's Detective Inspector Helen Grace.
Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider. Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention. M. J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years, specialising in high end drama production. In the last five years Arlidge has produced a number of prime-time crime serials for ITV, including Torn, The Little House and most recently Undeniable, broadcast in spring 2014. Currently writing for Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. Debut thriller Eeny Meeny, which introduces Detective Inspector Helen Grace, has sold to publishers around the world. The follow up, Pop Goes the Weasel, will be published by Penguin Books in September 2014.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Listen!! "What would you do?"

I really, really enjoyed this listen, well read by the multiple narrators this was a great first outing for the writer.
Great story, we have all probably read or seen stories of a similar note done before in other novels and in film but that does not stop this being a gritty and original piece of work and it certainly did keep me entertained for the full nine hours( I did listen to it in one sitting)
Its the attention to detail that makes this a strong piece, the viewpoints of various victims, survivors and indeed the tormenter add depth to this tale and it made me ask myself "what would I do?"
My five out of five was mostly given due to the lead female protagonist who is not only flawed but is somewhat very dark and this makes her so much more interesting than some of the other lead female detectives in circulation at the moment, the other characters are also flawed yet solid and well written and I do hope that we will hear more about them if the writer brings this team back together for another book.
Great Listen, well worth the money or a credit!
Read full review

- lynsey

Original and gripping debut

This is a really original take on the serial killer, police proceedural genre and I found it so gripping and compelling that I listened to it non stop over a 24 hour period. It is obvious that the writer has a background in screenwriting as this is a very fast paced novel with short chapters that make it perfect for listening to. The plotting is tight and believable, the characterisation excellent and the narration superb. A fantastic listen and one of my favourite audiobooks of the year.
Read full review

- Saffy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-05-2014
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd