Eeny Meeny : Helen Grace

  • by M. J. Arlidge
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell, Annie Aldington
  • Series: Helen Grace
  • 9 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Eeny Meeny, the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge. Read by Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell and Annie Aldington.
The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: Kill or be killed. Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?
Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case. And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die...
Introducing M. J. Arlidge's Detective Inspector Helen Grace.
Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider. Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention. M. J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years, specialising in high end drama production. In the last five years Arlidge has produced a number of prime-time crime serials for ITV, including Torn, The Little House and most recently Undeniable, broadcast in spring 2014. Currently writing for Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. Debut thriller Eeny Meeny, which introduces Detective Inspector Helen Grace, has sold to publishers around the world. The follow up, Pop Goes the Weasel, will be published by Penguin Books in September 2014.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Listen!! "What would you do?"

I really, really enjoyed this listen, well read by the multiple narrators this was a great first outing for the writer.
Great story, we have all probably read or seen stories of a similar note done before in other novels and in film but that does not stop this being a gritty and original piece of work and it certainly did keep me entertained for the full nine hours( I did listen to it in one sitting)
Its the attention to detail that makes this a strong piece, the viewpoints of various victims, survivors and indeed the tormenter add depth to this tale and it made me ask myself "what would I do?"
My five out of five was mostly given due to the lead female protagonist who is not only flawed but is somewhat very dark and this makes her so much more interesting than some of the other lead female detectives in circulation at the moment, the other characters are also flawed yet solid and well written and I do hope that we will hear more about them if the writer brings this team back together for another book.
Great Listen, well worth the money or a credit!
Read full review

- lynsey

a real gripper

What did you like most about Eeny Meeny?

The suspense is gripping had to keep listening


What other book might you compare Eeny Meeny to, and why?

I would compare teeny teeny to the devils feather by minette waters you can't understand why the person is doing this


Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favourite?

The main character is my favourite she is strong but so terribly flawed


Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Th first 2 victims are very sad


Any additional comments?

Good book to listen to really enjoyed it couldn't wait to find out why

Read full review

- Debbie M.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-05-2014
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd