Eeny Meeny : Helen Grace

  • by M. J. Arlidge
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell, Annie Aldington
  • Series: Helen Grace
  • 9 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Eeny Meeny, the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge. Read by Elizabeth Bower, Nigel Pilkington, Lucy Gaskell and Annie Aldington.
The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found - and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: Kill or be killed. Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?
Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors - living calling cards - who hold the key to the case. And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die...
Introducing M. J. Arlidge's Detective Inspector Helen Grace.
Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider. Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention. M. J. Arlidge has worked in television for the last fifteen years, specialising in high end drama production. In the last five years Arlidge has produced a number of prime-time crime serials for ITV, including Torn, The Little House and most recently Undeniable, broadcast in spring 2014. Currently writing for Silent Witness, Arlidge is also piloting original crime series for both UK and US networks. Debut thriller Eeny Meeny, which introduces Detective Inspector Helen Grace, has sold to publishers around the world. The follow up, Pop Goes the Weasel, will be published by Penguin Books in September 2014.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Proves that anyone can write a book

If you could sum up Eeny Meeny in three words, what would they be?

Plot, holes, colander


What was one of the most memorable moments of Eeny Meeny?

There weren't any


Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favourite?

Characterisation was pretty awful


If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Scraping the bottom of the barrel


Any additional comments?

Truly ridiculous plot that was so poorly thought out that the only conclusion you can come to is that the author is an idiot or she thinks her readers are idiots. Let me give you an example... The murderer plans to capture a couple who set off on a car journey. She lays in wait in the middle of a secluded country road and has to plan for their car to break down at just the right time. To achieve here aim she punctures their petrol tank and has to be sure that all the petrol drains from the tank at exactly the right time near the secluded spot where she sits ready to abduct the couple. So let's think this through... While the car is parked up the murderer holes the petrol tank, she obviously would have to know how much petrol is in the tank and also calculate the hole to an exact size so she could work out how long the tank would take to drain. She then has to hope that as the couple arrive back at their car they don't notice the pool of petrol or indeed the smell. She further has to hope that they don't notice the rapidly descending petrol gauge and also has to hope that they choose the correct route that will nicely deliver our unsuspecting innocents to the secluded area where their would be adductor lays waiting. There were many other plot holes as bad as this one and the whole book was utterly ridiculous. I read afterwards that the author has written scripts for Silent Witness, one of the most formulaic and laboured formats on TV, so no surprises there really. I only wish that I'd have read of the silent witness link beforehand because I'd have rightly avoided this book and author like the plague. I ended up skipping a few chapters to the big reveal in the last chapter and the denouement was as ridiculous as the plot.

Read full review

- Joe

Original and gripping debut

This is a really original take on the serial killer, police proceedural genre and I found it so gripping and compelling that I listened to it non stop over a 24 hour period. It is obvious that the writer has a background in screenwriting as this is a very fast paced novel with short chapters that make it perfect for listening to. The plotting is tight and believable, the characterisation excellent and the narration superb. A fantastic listen and one of my favourite audiobooks of the year.
Read full review

- Saffy "Audible addict."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-05-2014
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Limited