Enough Rope : Hakim and Arnold

  • by Barbara Nadel
  • Narrated by Paul Thornley
  • Series: Hakim and Arnold
  • 10 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Private investigator and ex-soldier Lee Arnold and police superintendent Paul Venus are by no means friends, but when Venus' son, Harry, is kidnapped and ransom demands arrive from an address in Arnold's patch in east London, the superintendent doesn't know who else to turn to. 
Arnold and his Muslim assistant, Mumtaz Hakim, soon find themselves chasing leads into several of the East End's uneasily coexisting communities. Mumtaz uncovers a link to one of the area's powerful Bangladeshi families, whose property empire has always seemed suspicious, while Arnold suspects the involvement of more old-fashioned East End gangsters and wonders if some of the nastier rumours about Venus himself might be true. 
And neither Mumtaz nor Lee likes the look of the children of the super rich, arriving in droves in the trendy parts of Hoxton and Shoreditch and living in luxury just a stone's throw from grinding urban poverty. 
The truth, however, is stranger and more dangerous than either Arnold or Hakim imagine. Enough Rope is a powerful and thrilling novel of London's ever-evolving dark side.


What the Critics Say

"A compelling new series."' (Sunday Telegraph)
"A new and original pair of detectives...it has the ring of truth." (Independent)
"Completely believable and timely...this series has brilliantly established itself." (Crimesquad)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Can't wait for the next one!

for me the storylines are always well crafted with enough twists, turns and mysteries to make the book unput down able. The characters are like old friends, with depth and individual personalities. also I find the backdrop of.multicultural London fascinating.
Read full review

- lesley Burling

Thank goodness that's over.

Great performance but hampered by the story. Struggled with it the whole way though but Paul Thornley was great as usual.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-08-2015
  • Publisher: Quercus