Everyone Lies : DI Kate Simms

  • by A. D. Garrett
  • Narrated by Lucy Price-Lewis
  • Series: DI Kate Simms
  • 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In Everyone Lies by A. D. Garrett, DCI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have, and she's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since.
Professor Nick Fennimore is a successful gambler, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and onetime scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.
In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead, and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies, and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten beyond identification. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; everyone lies; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.
A. D. Garrett is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration of prize-winning thriller writer Margaret Murphy and forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay. Margaret Murphy is the author of nine psychological thrillers. She lectures on writing and is a former Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow. Professor Barclay is a world-renowned forensics expert and senior lecturer in forensic science at Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen. Everyone Lies is their first collaboration.

More

What the Critics Say

"A pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics.... Simms and Fennimore are complex, compelling, and just plain marvelous." (Jeffery Deaver)
"This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate." (Ann Cleeves)
"Awesome.... What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut." (Mo Hayder)
"Brilliantly melds a deep knowledge of forensic procedures with a riveting story. The subtle twists in Everyone Lies kept me guessing until the end. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell are going to love this book!" (D. J. McIntosh, best-selling author of The Witch of Babylon)
"Outstanding.... Garrett balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Stuttering Start, Gripping Finale!

This opening book shows much promise for the series going forwards. For me the early parts of the book didn’t work as well as the second half though. There was what felt like a slightly incongruous mix of some very hard action scenes, character development and some detailed explanations of forensic techniques which lead to an uneven pace. The descriptions of advanced DNA techniques in particular did seem to have been inserted to demonstrate knowledge rather than add to the plot. This is probably a reflection of the fact that A D Garret is actually a pseudonym for the joint authors: novelist, Margaret Murphy, and forensic scientist, Dave Barclay.

Up until about half way through I was thinking that while the book was developing reasonably the uneven pace was going to taint it. However, after that the authors seemed to move up another gear and the story and characters developed into what I thought was an excellent finale. By this point the forensic science was still in evidence but it was very much in step with the story adding detail and plot depth rather than slowing events down for occasional lectures.

The narration by Lucy Price-Lewis impressed me. This is a book with a large variety of characters including some rather macho and nasty males and interesting regional accents so a tough gig. She built the tension and the excitement adeptly up to the conclusion.

All in all a good read, I do feel some of the earlier parts could have done with some stricter editing, not a great deal, but definitely some. What this volume does show is that when Murphy and Barclay get it right they deliver finely detailed plots based on expert knowledge that rival most in the genre in terms of excitement and tension.
Read full review

- Simon "A man with a child in his ears - @ShutterSpin."

Awful

Parts were very unbelievable and I found myself muttering 'for gods sake' more than once and 'ridiculous !!
There was an awful lot of very graphic violence which I thought was there more for the shock value than the story line.
I did not enjoy the narration, none of the accents rang true, wimpy women and posh boy voices that sounded too forced, and awful northern accents.
All in all an awful story made worse by the narrater
Read full review

- Jo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-11-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios