Exit Music : Inspector Rebus [Abridged]

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus [Abridged]
  • 7 hrs and 39 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the Audible Sounds of Crime Award 2008 for best abridged audiobook.It's late autumn in Edinburgh and late autumn in the career of Detective Inspector John Rebus. As he tries to tie up some loose ends before retirement, a murder case intrudes. A dissident Russian poet has been found dead in what looks like a mugging gone wrong. By apparent coincidence a high-level delegation of Russian businessmen is in town, keen to bring business to Scotland. The politicians and bankers who run Edinburgh are determined that the case should be closed quickly and clinically. But the further they dig, the more Rebus and his colleague DS Siobhan Clarke become convinced that they are dealing with something more than a random attack: especially after a particularly nasty second killing. Meanwhile, a brutal and premeditated assault on local gangster "Big Ger" Cafferty sees Rebus in the frame. Has the inspector taken a step too far in tying up those loose ends? Only a few days shy of the end to his long, inglorious career, will Rebus even make it that far?


What the Critics Say

"Things come to a head when Big Ger Cafferty, king of the Edinburgh underworld and still an unresolved thorn in Rebus's flesh, is brutally attacked." (The Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good book - not impressed with this reading.

Very surprised at the high star rating of this reading. I love the book, (I actually have a signed copy), and am a real Rankin fan, so downloaded this to listen to in the car. However the reading is very flaky - the reader sounds irritatingly sarcastic throughout, can't do an English accent to save his life, so that Siobhan Clark sounds extremely weird, and some characters seem to change their voices during the course of the story - notably the young volunteer constable (I won't spoil the plot). Most disappointing - not your fault, Mr Rankin, but a poor reading.
Read full review

- Rebecca

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-09-2007
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited