Exit Music : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 12 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's late autumn in Edinburgh and late autumn in the career of Detective Inspector Rebus. As he tries to tie up some loose ends before retirement, a murder case intrudes. A dissident Russian poet has been found dead in what looks like a mugging gone wrong. By apparent coincidence a delegation of Russian businessmen is in town - and everyone is determined that the case should be closed quickly and clinically.
But the further they dig, the more Rebus and DS Siobhan Clarke become convinced that they are dealing with something more than a random attack - especially after a particularly nasty second killing. Meanwhile a brutal and premeditated assault on a local gangster sees Rebus in the frame. Has the inspector taken a step too far in tying up those loose ends? Only a few days shy of the end to his long, inglorious career, will Rebus even make it that far?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

As good as ever

Would you listen to Exit Music again? Why?

Yes, the story's are complex and its always good to spot the things you missed the first time.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Exit Music?

The relationship between Rebus and Clarke.

Have you listened to any of James Macpherson’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Yes and the way the novel just washes over you is a joy.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Not really its not that kind of novel

Any additional comments?

A good end to Rebus

Read full review

- C. R. Broadhead

Same old excellent!

A good story from Rankin, with lashings of Edinburgh and red herrings. A side serving of sadness as Rebus faces his last case before retirement. (Full marks to Rankin for sticking with his promise to age Rebus in real time). Not that that, as anything else, stops Rebus from digging through all the leads in his own way, legal or not. Clarke has a bigger role than in some stories, in preparation for moving into her old boss's shoes. There's a new member of the team, too, stepping up from the uniformed ranks, keen for a move into CID; will he be up to the mark? As is often the way, Cafferty plays a role in the progress of events right up until the end of the novel.
James McPherson IS the voice of the Rebus stories, and continues his good work, with Taggart well in his past now. It would be strange for anyone else to do the honours at this point.
If you're a Rebus fan, I don't know why you're reading this, as you'll want it anyway; if you're not yet, then don't start here, go for a much earlier story. The character has developed over the years, and his relationship with Big Ger Cafferty has been through many forms which you'd be remiss not to understand. Whilst I haven't taken all the novels in historical order, I haven't strayed far from the created line.
Listen and enjoy!
Read full review

- Liz... Bristol

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-03-2015
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group