False Scent : Roderick Alleyn

  • by Ngaio Marsh
  • Narrated by James Saxon
  • Series: Roderick Alleyn
  • 7 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a poisonous cloud of spray, the curtain falls on a drama queen. Little did beloved British actress Mary Bellamy know that she would be done in at her own birthday party - choked by toxic mist from the bottle of Slaypest, a deadly insecticide.
Basking in the glow of her most adoring fans - who all happened to be her most duplicitous enemies - Mary would make her final performance.
When Superintendent Roderick Alleyn arrives, he smells a rat amongst the contemptuous collection of theatre types detained at the party, for this case has the unmistakable scent of murder....


What the Critics Say

"The brilliant Ngaio Marsh ranks with Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers." (Times Literary Supplement)
"Miss Marsh triumphs." (Daily Telegraph)
"High-spirited, amusing...neatly contrived from start to finish." (New Statesman)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

How to ruin a great story

This performance is so over the top........exaggerated accents, pantomime characters...completely ruins the whole thing. The books deserve careful interpretation and thought. Just dreadful.
Read full review

- slb

Oooh Ducky!!! Luvies abound!

If you could sum up False Scent in three words, what would they be?

Jolly good fun!

What did you like best about this story?

The story is a classic whodunnit.... but Saxon brings it to life

What does James Saxon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

James Saxon must be one of the best character voice actors going, and in this show biz story he is supreme, from coy to camp and back..... but mostly camp.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Laughed out loud, not so much at the plot but at Saxon's interpretation.

Any additional comments?

Listen out for Deep Throat Nin!

Read full review

- My Idoru

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-10-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK