After months of maternity leave, tough-talking Espoo police detective Maria Kallio is ready to return to work. But before assuming her new post as head of the Violent Crime Unit, she vacations with her husband and daughter on the island of Rödskär. There Kallio learns that, one year earlier, her ex-boyfriend Harri had mysteriously fallen to his death from the isle's steep and treacherous cliffs.
On the anniversary of that event, Harri's boss, the CEO of an allegedly nontoxic paint company, loses his life on those very same rocks. In light of such a coincidence, Kallio searches for the link between these two tragedies and is soon convinced that they weren't accidents - they were murders. As the Finnish nights grow longer, so too does the list of suspects. Was the CEO's disillusioned wife involved? His environmental-activist son? Or perhaps his rebellious daughter? Or might the culprit be his half-brother, an adventurous sailor whom Kallio finds altogether a little too intriguing?
From internationally bestselling Finnish author Leena Lehtolainen comes the sixth book of the gripping Maria Kallio Mystery series.
©1998 Leena Lehtolainen (P)2016 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved. Translation © 2016 Owen F. Witesman.
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £10.19

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £10.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 05-12-16

Excellent story with ourstanding narration

Fatal Headwind is the most recent novel in the 6 book Maria Kallio series. I've now completed Books 3-6, will soon listen to Books 1& 2, and look forward to the release of Book 7 next April. This series of police detective novels is set in Finland and the author is Finnish. Lawyer turned police detective Maria Kallio is back from maternity leave and is now a police lieutenant. He husband is staying home with the baby. Kallio's coworker who acted as police lieutenant in her absence is unhappy about relinquishing the role and reporting to Kallio. The murder Kallio's team is investigating is of a man whose family owns a paint family. The family is dysfunctional to understate the case. I really like this series and strongly recommend it.

Read more Hide me

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By vicsan62 on 04-08-16

Love this series, can't wait for the next one!

Love the narrator, always makes me feel comfortable, so I can relax and enjoy the story!

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews