Summary

Read the debut by the author selected to co-write a prequel to Dracula by the Stoker family! J.D. Barker's Forsaken is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and John Saul. Truly the birth of a new master in the genre.
Bram Stoker Award Nominee - Superior Achievement in a First Novel
"A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind!" Jeffery Deaver #1 International Bestselling Author
"Incredibly written, supremely creepy. I don't say this lightly: J.D. Barker is a force to be reckoned with." Tosca Lee NY Times Bestselling Author
"An ambitious debut… Witches, spells, miniature demons, and personal doubt give fans of horror plenty to latch on to… the plot moves at a brisk pace… a promising start to a planned series." Publisher’s Weekly
Book One of the Shadow Cove Saga
When horror author Thad McAlister began his latest novel, a tale rooted in the witch trials of centuries past, the words flowed effortlessly. The story poured forth, filling page after page with the most frightening character ever to crawl from his imagination. It was his greatest work, one that would guarantee him a position among the legends of the craft.
But was it really fiction?
He inadvertently opened a door, one that would soon jeopardize the lives of his family.
She wants to come back.
At home, his wife struggles to keep their family alive. Secretly wondering if she caused it all…a deal she made long ago. A deal with the Forsaken.
©2014 Jonathan Dylan Barker (P)2015 Hampton Creek Press
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £24.19

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £24.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Miss B. L. Donkin on 07-02-17

so scary!

that narrator! amazing! so much depth to the characters I just adored the story! I can't recommend enough! it really was a very scary listen very very well wrote

Read more Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Steinunn Anna Sigurj�nsd�ttir on 30-04-18

Hátíð the narrator

horrible whispering and dramatic narration ruins the book. I gave up after a few chapters so I can't speak to the story itself. I especially couldn't stand the voice of Ashley.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Jim "The Impatient" on 04-09-15

RISE OF THE WITCH

I did like parts of this. There were some creepy parts to the story. I quit after 5 hours. The story was just good enough that I would have stuck with it, had it not been for the narrator. Christina Delaine is the female version of Scott Brick. Every single word, sentence, phrase is read in a whispery, conspiracy, breathy, campfire story tone. When you constantly read everything like it is the most scary thing in the world, after awhile you lose track of what is suppose to be scary and what is not. The eight year old girl, who is suppose to be normal, sounded creepy right from the start.

The writing is not awful and really shows some promise, but it is also not polished or good enough to survive the narrator. The story was not good enough for me to get a print version, but if you are really into paranormal, then you might like the print version.

Read more Hide me

31 of 34 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By West on 10-08-15

First audiobook I've ever stopped and deleted...

This story is very boring and the narration is just awful. I really tried to get through it, I made it to about 7 hours then realized I did not even care how it ended and it was a chore to listen to so I deleted it. The character development is extremely weak and I didn't really care about anyone in this book. It is no wonder I got this on sale for $3.95. Multiple times I found myself just thinking about something else because the book was so disengaging. Don't get me started on this lady's 8 year old girl voice... It sounds like she is doing the voice of a 3 year old that just learned how to speak. It was hands down the worst 8 year old voice impersonation I have ever heard in my life. She sounds like a character off of the cartoon Rugrats..

Read more Hide me

23 of 26 people found this review helpful

See all reviews