Gaudy Night : Lord Peter Wimsey

  • by Dorothy L Sayers
  • Narrated by Jane McDowell
  • Series: Lord Peter Wimsey
  • 16 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The best of the golden age crime writers, praised by all the top modern writers in the field including P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, Dorothy L. Sayers created the immortal Lord Peter Wimsey. The twelfth book featuring Lord Peter (the third novel to feature Harriet Vane) is set in an Oxford women's college.
Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back....
At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters, and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the Gaudy celebrations.
But soon Harriet realises she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.


What the Critics Say

"I admire her novels...she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail." (P. D. James)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Miss Sayers at her best - shame the narration wasn't that great

I have waited a long time for this book to be released I audio for at. In my humble opinion this is Miss Sayers at her very best. By why oh why didn't the get Edward Petherbridge for the narration. This is why I have marked down the performance.
Read full review

- Ms

A lamentable narrator and badly produced

Stilted! She stops halfway through speeches to take a breath where nobody would. Reads like an amateur. However, I did feel that some editing, or production, might have spared us the howlers and mispronunciations. Plus not knowing how Oxford names should be spoken. 'Saint Aldgates' indeed. And 'Dives' pronounced like seedy nightspots. it should be 'DivES, with the E pronounced. I stuck with it, because I like the story, but this is the second of the new series of Lord Peter books I have been disappointed by and I shan't get any more. I and Ms Sayers deserve better than this. Thank heavens I have all the Ian Carmichael recordings.
Read full review

- Leslie Wilson

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-09-2015
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton