Gideon's Raid : Gideon of Scotland Yard

  • by John Creasey
  • Narrated by Barnaby Edwards
  • Series: Gideon of Scotland Yard
  • 8 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Commander George Gideon of the CID has an audacious raid planned. If it is successful the crime responsible for eighty percent of London crime will be wiped out. Nothing is ever simple, however.
First, the whole operation is whisked out of Gideon’s hands by the Chief Commissioner. Next, a supergrass makes a midnight call to reveal that the Yard has a leak and the criminals know the police’s plans. Turned to once more by the top brass, Gideon must lead the desperate attempt to catch London’s most dangerous men before they escape.
Add into the mix a psychopathic killer, a detective constable lying unconscious in hospital, and Gideon’s wife being taken hostage at gun point, and you get a non-stop thriller that fittingly celebrates the storytelling of John Creasey.
William Vivienne Butler follows in the footsteps of John Creasey and weaves a story as masterfully as the man himself. Invited to take over writing the Gideon Series on Creasey’s death, Butler hoped to keep the memory of the Master crime fiction writer alive. John Creasey's near 600 titles have sold more than 80 million copies in over 25 languages under both his own name and multiple other pseudonyms. His style varied with each identity and led to him being regarded as a literary phenomena.
Amongst the many series written were Gideon of Scotland Yard, The Toff, The Baron, Dr. Palfrey and Inspector West, as JJ Marric, Michael Halliday, Patrick Dawlish and others.
During his lifetime Creasey enjoyed an ever increasing reputation both in the UK and overseas, especially the USA. This was further enhanced by constant revision of his works in order to assure the best possible be presented to his readers and also by many awards, not least of which was being honoured twice by the Mystery Writer's of America, latterly as Grand Master.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-07-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios