Hard Frost

  • by R. D. Wingfield
  • Narrated by Robin Browne
  • 14 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Detective Inspector Jack Frost knelt down beside the tiny body. Who did this to you, sonny? he asked, his face tight with compassion. The boy was eight years old, bound and gagged, and stripped naked. He had been dead for some seven or eight hours.
Frost should have been on holiday, he had sneaked back into the station late at night to help himself to some of Divisional Commander Mullett's cigarettes and this case had been dumped on him as no other officers were available. And then another boy is reported missing. The following day, the ransom demand: £250,000 or the boy dies like the first.
Coarse and insubordinate, fearless and intuitive, D.I. Jack Frost stumbles from crisis to crisis as he tries to cope with a child-stabbing pervert, the discovery of a decomposing body in a coal bunker, a suspicious suicide, an equally suspicious burglary and the abduction of a teenage girl.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I simply cannot understand the high rating reviews here and on Amazon; Goodreads reviews are far more measured, many complaining at the negative, sexist references towards women, mainly by Frost, but seemingly compounded by a lot of his male co-workers. See also The Letterpress Project which succinctly describes how I feel about this type of writing. It's not often I delete downloads from Audible ... but this is a prime example. Hopefully these kind of references towards women will, eventually, be recognised for what they are ... mindless ignorance. With this subject being covered by Prime Time Media at the moment it illustrates how long this negativity towards women has been allowed to infiltrate society.
Read full review

- Ross Bower

starting to get a bit to repetitive

still enjoyed this book but sadly unlike the greats like PD James the stories in these types of series always start to become repetitive and this is no exception. Mullet continued to treat Frost badly and Frost still ignored , yet another new detective arrives in this small town who thinks Frost is a twit only to be proved wrong.. That then makes the back story of the main plot so very unbelievable and boring that the desire to skip through is hard to resist. Have already purchased the next book so will give it ago but if its the same yet again will return and try something/someone else
Read full review

- Jennifer Chennell

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-02-2014
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd