When ex-Major Ed Parker of the US Army is pushed over a cliff at Pointe du Hoc following the anniversary of D-Day, a crisis is sparked in British Intelligence. The cream of the Secret Service gather: Dr. Audley, Oliver St John Latimer, Commander Cable, Dr. Paul Mitchell. But none will take on the case. Why is the investigation left to inexperienced Elizabeth Loftus? Is there any truth in the old rumour that Parker was a KGB double agent?
Elizabeth must ponder these and many other questions as she pries the lid off a can of worms forty years old - and suspicion begins to fall on her most respected colleagues.
Anthony Price was born in England in 1928. He became a captain in the British Army before studying at Oxford University, then became a journalist on the Westminster Press and Oxford Times. Price is the author of nineteen novels featuring Dr David Audley and Colonel Jack Butler, which focus on a group of counter-intelligence agents. Approximately twenty years elapse between the first and last novel in the series, and most of the plots are connected with one or more important events in military history. The first three novels were adapted into a six-part BBC TV drama in the 1980s, and The Labyrinth Makers (for which he won a CWA Silver Dagger) and Other Paths to Glory have both been produced as BBC radio dramas.
©2012 Anthony Price (P)2012 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £14.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By Wayne Davies on 28-06-15

Complete Pile of S%;t !!!

Would you try another book written by Anthony Price or narrated by Jilly Bond?

Most definatley not! It was completely boring from start to about a third of the way through where i could not bare it anymore!

Would you ever listen to anything by Anthony Price again?


Who might you have cast as narrator instead of Jilly Bond?


What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

disappointment, anger and Sadness

Any additional comments?

I hate to repeat myself but, Complete Pile of S%;t !!!

Read more Hide me

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Anniebligh on 13-08-13

Jilly Bond ruins this story

OK each of us likes different voices. A little Jilly goes a long way
For me Jilly Bond is just plain destructive to this story.
Because I do like Anthony Price's novels I have tried two of them with Jilly reading.

'No More' I cry.

Story is not bad at all but if you are tempted to purchase this audio, listen to the sample.

Read more Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all reviews