Hide And Seek : Inspector Rebus

  • by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by James Macpherson
  • Series: Inspector Rebus
  • 8 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A junkie lies dead in an Edinburgh squat, spread-eagled, cross-like on the floor, between two burned-down candles, a five-pointed star daubed on the wall above. Just another dead addict - until John Rebus begins to chip away at the indifference, treachery, deceit and sleaze that lurks behind the facade of the Edinburgh familiar to tourists. Only Rebus seems to care about a death which looks more like a murder every day, about a seductive danger he can almost taste, appealing to the darkest corners of his mind...


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Inspector Rebus at his best

Would you listen to Hide And Seek again? Why?

I could easily listen to this again, but I rarely revisit books unless there is a reference in a later story that I'd need to refresh myself on.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

It would have been nice to have the opportunity to listen to the book all in one go because it does have that 'I'll just listen a while longer to find out what happens' feeling. As it is, I found it easy to keep returning to it without losing the plot.

Any additional comments?

An engaging listen. As have all the Rebus books I've listened to so far.

Read full review

- Steve Kilpin

The first 4 covered !!!

Having seen an interview with Ian Rankin I decided I'd start from scratch and listen to the whole series. I really enjoyed this book and James Macpherson narrates this and the second book really well. The character continues to be developed and Edinburgh invocatively described. Thoroughly enjoyed
Read full review

- Laurence Fossey

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2011
  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited