I'll Be Watching You

  • by Beverly Barton
  • Narrated by Maggie Mash
  • 14 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Karen Rose and Karin Slaughter, this is an atmospheric and nerve-jangling crime thriller. Lovers of CSI, this one is for you.
Ella, sweet Ella, I dream of you at night and wake in a cold sweat. You were meant to be mine. You can't even begin to imagine all the things I want to do to you. When the time is right, I will come for you. And that is only the beginning of my revenge. When Ella Porter opens the mysterious letter, a mix of fear and desire spreads through her. She's always been the quiet, ladylike good girl, not the sort to inspire a stalker. The letters are a reminder of another time and a shocking secret. Someone is watching Ella. Wanting her. Promising to do things to her: tempting things - terrifying things. Desperate to protect her family Ella will do anything to discover the truth. Even if it means joining forces with the one man who could be her greatest threat - a twisted killer watching every move she makes.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Is this really how the US Southern States are?

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

No real impact either way. Pleasant to have on in background but no real need to listen intently.


What will your next listen be?

No idea yet.


Would you listen to another book narrated by Maggie Mash?

Yes she is a good narrator. However, found the gruff "male" voices extremely irritating and accent annoying. Sounds like an English person with bad US accent. However, I got used to it and she has a nice voice and reads very well.


Do you think I'll Be Watching You needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

No-people who like family saga type stories may think so. I do not really care about the characters enough to want to know more.


Any additional comments?

Other than the mention of cars films etc I could have been listening to a book set in early 20th C. This may be how the Southern states are, however, the females are somewhat pathetic. Ella (main character) is aged 30 but goes running to daddy for everything? She is totally naive and to start I thought she was a young teen. She does not see what is right in front of her nose yet is a Judge? Far too much sex and romance not enough thriller and crime. If I'd wanted to listen to an erotic book I'd have bought one.Distinctly average.

Read full review

- faye

Disappointed

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

A good narrator


What will your next listen be?

Not this narrator


How did the narrator detract from the book?

So far from reality with voices it spoilt the book totally. Got on my nerves very quickly and abandoned the read. Was so bad with her so-called American accent that the drawl made it sound like a primary school lesson in pronunciation, only that would be detrimental to the intelligence of pupils. Terrible.


You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Probably a good storyline but couldn't bear the narrator long enough to find out.


Any additional comments?

This narrator has a lot to answer for and authors should beware of using her. Totally spoilt!

Read full review

- Chris

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-10-2014
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited