In This Bright Future : DC Smith

  • by Peter Grainger
  • Narrated by Gildart Jackson
  • Series: DC Smith
  • 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Two weeks of rest and recuperation - that's what the doctor ordered. Detective Sergeant DC Smith could listen to some music, make some of his own, and maybe even catch up on his reading; he is almost looking forward to it. And then there is a knock on the door. It's only his next-door neighbor, but it is the beginning of a sequence of events that will bring him face to face with some of the darkest episodes and the most dangerous people from his own past. This is Smith's fifth investigation, but this time it's personal.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful series of books

I’ve only ‘read’ these books via audio, but can’t imagine any other way now thanks to the excellent performance by the narrator. The central character is presented with a subtlety and charm that is very engaging.

Read full review

- lisasarcy

Unexpectedly moving

A fascinating view into the complexities of “the troubles” and how they touched families for generations and still do. This a slow burner but the pace is perfect to provoke contemplation. The main character of the series, DC, is a clever thoughtful man and this book gives an insight into the person he has become. He might be a little like Marmite but I sit squarely in the “love it” camp. If you’re looking for a fast-paced thriller then go elsewhere but if you have focus and a little indulgence then you will be roundly rewarded with what I would judge to be the best in this series so far. It is also unexpectedly moving and all the better for it. A final thought on the narration which was very fine indeed. The range of accents must have been daunting but they were handled superbly and the pace and timing were absolutely on point. I wonder if Mr Jackson has met Mr Grainger as there is such empathy in the narrated interpretation. I strongly recommend this book.
Read full review

- Minty

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-07-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio