In the Market for Murder : Lady Hardcastle Mysteries

  • by T E Kinsey
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Knowelden
  • Series: Lady Hardcastle Mysteries
  • 8 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Spring, 1909, and Lady Hardcastle, amateur sleuth and all-round eccentric, is enjoying a well-deserved rest. But a week after a trip to the cattle market, Spencer Caradine, a local farmer, turns up dead in the pub, face-down in his beef and mushroom pie. Once again, it is up to Lady Hardcastle and her maid, Florence, to solve the case.
Armed with wit and whimsy, not to mention Florence's mean right hook, the pair set out to discover what really happened and why. Was it poison or just ill luck?
As they delve further into their investigation, they encounter a theft where nothing is stolen, a séance with a troubled ghost and an ever-increasing number of Spencer's family and friends who might just have motive for murder. One thing's for sure: Lady Hardcastle has a mystery on her hands.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Cozy Mystery

Another wonderful funny book from this author. I think part of the fun is in the narration. Elizabeth Knowelden does a superb job of performing these books, each character is easy to identify and she has the pace of the book perfectly.

This time Lady Hardcastle and her faithful maid Flo solve several mysteries, all neatly tied together at the conclusion of the book. I had to admire the way the author wove the mysteries. As I said in the review of "A Quiet Life in the Country" these are not serious literature but they are certainly laugh out loud funny in places and extremely easy to listen to (actually listen to again and again). Full marks for listening pleasure.

I know the third book is on the way and I can't wait.
Read full review

- Sheryl Mason

I love these books!

The dynamic between the main characters is fabulous and the humour makes it. More books please!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-12-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio