Inner Sanctum Mysteries

  • by PDQ Audioworks
  • 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Inner Sanctum was one of old-time radio's most popular mystery series! Here are 20 half-hour episodes of the original radio broadcasts, digitally remastered. Episodes include:

The Bog Oak Necklace
The House Where Death Lived
The Horla
Black Sea Gull
Death Across the Board
The Dead Walk at Night
Dead Man's Magic
Terrible Vengeance
Study for Murder
Dead Reckoning
Death Has Claws
The Man from Yesterday
The Death Ship
Island of Death
Death Is a Joker
The Tell-Tale Heart
Dead Freight, Fog
Death for Sale
Mystery of the Howling Dog
Inner Sanctum Mysteries was a popular old-time radio program that aired from January 7, 1941, to October 5, 1952. It featured stories of mystery, terror, and suspense. The tongue-in-cheek introductions were in sharp contrast to shows like Suspense and The Whistler. A total of 526 episodes are known to have been produced. The early 1940s programs opened with Raymond Edward Johnson introducing himself as "Your host, Raymond", in a mocking, sardonic voice. A spooky melodramatic organ score punctuated Raymond's many morbid jokes and playful puns. Raymond's closing was an elongated "Pleasant dreeeammsss?!" His tongue-in-cheek style and ghoulish relish of his own tales became the standard for many such horror narrators to follow. Of more than 500 programs broadcast, only about 100 remain in circulation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-11-2012
  • Publisher: PDQ AudioWorks